Latest SCI publications

Latest Projects

Research project (§ 26 & § 27)
Duration : 2019-04-01 - 2021-03-31

The project entitled ‘Renewable turbulent flow chromatography for exposomics’ will be developed by Dr. David J. Cocovi-Solberg in BOKU under supervision of Dr. Stephan Hann and involves the design of novel analytical systems for automating all analysis steps in ‘exposome’ studies. Traditional studies for detection of environmental contaminants refer to the total amount of specific target substances found in different environmental compartments. Contrariwise, exposome studies try to investigate potential toxicity based on the whole pool of substances and metabolites to which human beings might be exposed to during their lifetime cycle. Those exposome studies are very complicated because up to thousands of substances present in very small amounts (down to parts per billion) are to be measured in each sample, and many samples must be analyzed to get conclusive results. Mass spectrometers are the instruments of choice for such studies. As a drawback, these analytical platforms are very sensitive to external conditions, and exposome samples cannot be analyzed directly. Samples must be pretreated with cumbersome procedures involving many steps, high amounts of chemicals and many working hours in order to remove sample constituents that could falsify the LC-MS results and negatively affect instrument performance and durability. For this reason, the project carried out at the University of BOKU aims at designing novel approaches based on pumps, valves and 3D printed components that will automatically, that is, without analyst intervention, take the sample, remove interfering sample constituents, concentrate the substances of interest that are present in very small amounts, and in general, prepare the sample for the LC-MS analysis. The heart of the instrument to be designed is based on the principle named ‘Turbulent Flow Chromatography’ (TFC), that is known for long time ago but passed unnoticed until very recently. This principle relies upon the favorable effects that happen when the sample is passed at a high speed on a bed of microscopic beads for separation of substances of interest. Thanks to advances in new materials, computer control and 3D printing technology, the TFC principle will be revisited and a proof of concept of the instrument designed. The computer-controlled operation along with the flexibility of the designed instrument will allow very complicated sequences to be executed, for analyzing different families of substances, and all in unmanned operation, that is, no scientific supervision will be needed during the entire analysis workflow.
Research project (§ 26 & § 27)
Duration : 2018-12-05 - 2021-12-04

Despite the significant advantages that combining ion mobility mass spectrometry with all-ions QTOFMS, the highly complex nature of samples faced in metabolomics studies still poses great challenges for routine use of such workflows in metabolomics. One approach to address this limitation is the use of drift-time dependent quadrupole transmission profiles to facilitate a “bandpass” selection of precursor ions to be fragmented in the collision cell. In such a workflow, the transmission and/or collision energy applied in the high energy frame can be further directed by the drift separation (i.e. the quadrupole transmission is programmed to suit the drift times of relevant metabolites). This technology has enormous potential for metabolomics, but has not been tested or assessed with relevant compounds or real samples. In this project, we propose to investigate the use of continuous wide-band quadrupole isolation in combination with ion mobility separation to establish optimized acquisition settings and comprehensive datamining workflows with an outlook toward critical applications covering both identification and relative quantification in biological and environmental samples.
Research project (§ 26 & § 27)
Duration : 2017-10-01 - 2020-09-30

Eels are an endangered species of which the migration behaviour is only little understood. In this research project, analysis of eel otoliths and eel soft tissues by means of (LA)-ICP-SFMS and (LA)-MC ICP-MS for elemental (Li, Ba, Mg, B, Fe, Zn, Sr, Ca, Mn, Zr, Pb, U, S) and 87Sr/86Sr isotope analysis. Eel of different provenance will be provided. A special focus is set on glass-eel, representing the juvenile status of the fish. Since the samples are extremely challenging, existing analytical protocols will be further developed and optimized for the respective research question. The to be developed database will be compared with water data in order to reconstruct migration and provenance of the investigated fish samples.

Supervised Theses and Dissertations

Neueste SCI Publikationen

Neueste Projekte

Forschungsprojekt aus §26 oder §27 Mitteln
Laufzeit : 2019-04-01 - 2021-03-31

Das Projekt „Erneuerbare turbulente Flusschromatographie für Exposomics“ wird von Dr. David J. Cocovi-Solberg an der BOKU Wien unter der Betreuung von Assoz. Prof. Dr. Stephan Hann durchgeführt. Ziel des Projekts ist die Entwickelung von neuen Systemen zur Realisierung von automatisierten Analysen im Bereich von Studien zum „Exposom“. Während in der klassischen Umweltanalytik die Ermittlung der Konzentration einzelner Substanzen in verschiedenen Umweltkompartimenten im Vordergrund steht, beschäftigt sich die Exposom-Analytik mit der Untersuchung der möglichen toxischen oder gesundheitsschädigenden Auswirkung aller auf den Menschen einwirkenden Umwelteinflüsse und Substanzen. Exposom-Studien stellen eine große Herausforderung dar und sind sehr komplex, da viele verschiedene Stoffe mit teilweise sehr geringen Konzentrationen („part per billion-levels“) in einer Vielzahl von Proben untersucht werden müssen. Die Massenspektrometrie ist die Methode der Wahl für solche Studien, wobei ein Nachteil bei der geringen Robustheit dieser Systeme bezüglich Proben mit hohem Matrixgehalten besteht. Als Folge müssen die Proben in mehreren Aufarbeitungsschritten vorbereitet werden. Dies ist mit einem hohen Zeitaufwand und einem hohen Verbrauch von Chemikalien verbunden, muss aber zur Abtrennung von Probenbestanteilen durchgeführt werden, um richtige Ergebnissen zu erzielen und die hohe Performance und lange Lebensdauer der Geräte zu gewährleisten. Zur Verbesserung dieser Situation werden im Projekt an der BOKU unter der Nutzung von speziellen Ventilen, Pumpen und 3D-gedruckten Komponenten neue Systeme entwickelt, welche eine vollautomatisierte Probenvorbereitung ermöglichen, bei der störende Probenbestandteile abgetrennt und eine empfindliche Bestimmung der Zielanalyten ermöglicht wird. Das Herz dieser Systeme besteht aus der sogenannten turbulenten Flusschromatographie (TFC), einer schon länger bekannten Methode, welche auf den Vorteilen eines turbulenten Flussregimes im Zusammenhang mit partikulären Festphasen besteht, aber nie im Kontext Exposom angewandt worden ist. Mit Hilfe der heutigen technischen Möglichkeiten (IT-Lösungen, 3D-Druck, neue Materialien) wird im vorliegenden Projekt das Konzept TFC neu entwickelt und implementiert werden. Das neue System wird komplexe Probenvorbereitungsschritte in automatisierter Form, ohne dass manuelle Eingriffe notwendig sind, durchführen und die genaue Analyse einer Vielzahl von Substanzen ermöglichen.
Forschungsprojekt aus §26 oder §27 Mitteln
Laufzeit : 2018-12-05 - 2021-12-04

Obwohl die Ionenmobilitäts-Massenspektrometrie in Verbindung mit "all-ions" basierten QTOFMS Analysenstrategien eine sehr leistungsstarke Analytik ermöglicht, treten im Bereich Metabolomics immer wieder schwierige Fragestellungen und Matrices auf, welche auch für diese Methode eine große Herausforderung darstellen. In diesem Zusammenhang bietet der Einsatz der driftzeitgesteuerten „breitband“ Precursorauswahl mit nachfolgender Fragmentierung eine wertvolle Alternative. Bei diesem workflow kann die angewandte Kollisionsenergie mit der Driftzeit der Metaboliten korreliert werden. Die Technologie hat ein hohes Potential, wurde aber noch nicht für wichtige Zielanalyten oder Matrices getestet. Im vorliegenden Projekt werden die Parameter und der datamining workflow für die Kombination der Breitband-Quadrupol-Isolierung mit der Ionenmobilität optimiert und für die Identifizierung und Quantifizierung von Metaboliten in schwierigen biologischen Proben und Umweltproben vorbereitet.
Forschungsprojekt aus §26 oder §27 Mitteln
Laufzeit : 2017-10-01 - 2020-09-30

Aale sind eine gefährdete Spezies, deren Migrationsverhalten nur wenig verstanden ist. In diesem Forschungsprojekt wird die Analyse von Aalotolithen und Aal-Weichgeweben mittels (LA) -ICP-SFMS und (LA) -MC ICP-MS für die Multielement Fingerabdrücke (Li, Ba, Mg, B, Fe, Zn, Sr, Ca , Mn, Zr, Pb, U, S) und 87Sr / 86Sr-Daten verwendet. Aale verschiedener Provenienz werden im Rahmen dieses Projektes untersucht. Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt liegt auf Glasaal, der den jugendlichen Status des Fisches darstellt. Da die Proben äußerst anspruchsvoll sind, werden bestehende analytische Protokolle weiterentwickelt und für die jeweilige Forschungsfrage optimiert. Die zu entwickelnde Datenbank wird mit Wasserdaten verglichen, um die Migration und die Provenienz der untersuchten Fischproben zu rekonstruieren.

Betreute Hochschulschriften