The Altmann-Glycobiology group

Post-Docs:

Dr. Clemens Gruber

Doktoral students:

Mag. Andreas Thader (Towards analysing the brain glycome)
Dipl.Ing. Elisabeth Svehla (Immunology plant O-glycans)
Dipl.Ing. Johannes Führer (O-glycan analysis with emphasis on T- and Tn-antigen)

Diploma students:

none at the moment

Technicians / Scientific assistance:

Ing. Thomas Dalik
Ing. Karin Polacsek
BSc. Rudolf Figl
BSc. Daniel Maresch

Research group Altmann “Glyco-bio-analysis”

Dealing with the biological functions of protein-glycosylation – a phenomenon found on almost all proteins in serum and on cell surfaces – calls for the availability of highly capable analysis by liquid chromatography-mass spectrometry (LC-MS). Once this costly and valuable equipment is on hand, it can be used for vast variety of purposes in general protein and – well – glycoprotein analysis.

Our working areas are:

Bio-mass spectrometry  --  Since 2012 we operate a high-resolution Q-TOF mass spec (Bruker, Maxis G4) (as partner of the EQ-VIBT GmbH) and an ion-trap with CID and ETD capability (Bruker, amaZone Speed ETD) plus the necessary nano- and capillary HPLC systems. The high resolution, mass accuracy and sensitivity allow to answer an infinite variety of analytical problems such as protein identification via peptide mapping, de novo sequencing of peptides, mass determination of intact proteins and last but not least quantitative proteomics.  These capacities are regularily drawn on by other groups from BOKU and elsewhere.

Glycoprotein analysis – Oligosaccharides on secreted proteins are highly complex and diverse structures, which differ by the number and position/linkage of several different sugar residues. We develop methods for a true isomer-sensible glycan analysis using our modern LC-MS equipment to the best. Reference glycans are synthetized using recombinant glycosyltransferases. Our curiosity leads us into the kingdoms of plants, insects, algae and funig. Most efforts are however dedicated to pharmaceutically relevant glycoproteins.

Glycan biosynthesis – Plant O-glycans and their biosynthesis are an as of yet still rather unexplored area. Our research with plant O-glycans arose with the discovery of such structures on weed pollen allergens. Additionally, it is the increasing use of plants as expression systems that demands a better understanding of these post-translational modifications via a combination of analytical, biological and immunogical techniques.

Glyco-immunology – The sugar residues on glycoproteins of different species often exhibit “foreign” structures and are thus immunogenic. On allergens of pollens, insect venoms or vegetable foodstuffs glycans contribute to IgE binding – a phenomen that contributes considerably to apparent cross-reactivity in serum-based allergy diagnosis. We developed a simple, cheap and robust means of eliminating these false positive measurements. In a sort of Initiative we try - together with a company – to validate and spread this straigth-forward approach towards better allergy diagnosis in diagnostic practice.

Die Altmann-Glykobiologie Gruppe

Motto

Aktuelle Themen für Diplomarbeiten (aka Masterarbeiten)

Meeresfrüchte      Mikroalgen

Post-Docs:

Dr. Clemens Gruber

Doktoranden:

Dipl.Ing. Elisabeth Svehla (Immunology plant O-glycans)
Dipl.Ing. Johannes Führer (O-glycan analysis with emphasis on T- and Tn-antigen)
M.Sc. Réka Móscái (Prolyl-hydrolyxases in Nicotiana benthamiana)

Diplomanden:

Jonathan Urteil (MS/MS of fucosylated N-glycans)

Technik / Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter:

Ing. Thomas Dalik
Ing. Karin Polacsek
BSc. Rudolf Figl
BSc. Daniel Maresch

Arbeits- und Forschungsfeld der Gruppe Altmann

Das Interesse an der biologischen Funktion der Protein-Glykosylierung – eines Phänomens, welches fast alle Proteine im Serum und auf Zelloberflächen betrifft – bedingt das Vorhandensein einer leistungsfähigen Analytik in Form der Flüssigchromatographie-Massenspektometrie (LC-MS). So diese nun erfreulicherweise zur Verfügung steht, kann sie für vielfältigste Aufgaben der Protein- sowie eben auch Glykoprotein-Analyse eingesetzt werden.
Unsere Arbeitsbereiche im Einzelnen:

Bio-Massenspektrometrie -- Wir betreiben seit 2012 ein hochauflösendes Tandem-Massenspektrometer (Bruker, Maxis G4) (als Partner der EQ-VIBT GmbH) sowie eine Ionenfalle mit CID und ETD Fragmentierung (Bruker, amaZone Speed ETD) mit den dazugehörigen  Nano- und Kapillar-HPLC Anlagen. Die hohe Auflösung, Meßgenauigkeit und Empfindlichkeit der Geräte ermöglichen es, eine ganze Reihe von Fragestellungen zu lösen wie z.B. Proteinidentifizierung mittels Peptide-Mapping, de novo Sequenzierung von Peptiden oder Massenbestimmung von Proteinen bis hin zur quantitativen Proteomics. Diese Fähigkeiten werden von anderen Gruppen auf der BOKU häufig genutzt.

Glykoprotein-Analyse -- Die Oligosaccharide auf sekretorischen Proteinen stellen sehr komplexe und vielfältige Strukturen dar, die sich durch Anzahl und Stellung von Zuckerresten unterscheiden. Wir entwickeln Methoden mit hoher Aussagekraft über die Struktur der Oligosaccharide. Die instrumentelle Grundlage dafür stellt unsere hochmodernen LC-MS System (siehe oben) dar. Referenzglykane werden mittels rekombinanter Glykosyltransferasen erzeugt. Unsere Neugier treibt uns ins Reich der Insekten, Pflanzen, Algen und Pilze. Der Schwerpunkt der Arbeit liegt jedoch bei pharmazeutisch relevanten  Glykoproteinen.

Glykan-Biosynthese  --  Ein noch kaum erforschtes Gebiet stellt die Biosynthese pflanzlicher O-Glykane dar, wie sie z.B. auf Unkrautpollen-Allergenen zu finden sind. Der Einsatz von Pflanzen für die Expression pharmazeutischer Glykoprotein verlangt ein besseres Verständnis dieser Prozesse, das wir durch Kombination von Analytik, biologischen und immunologischen Verfahren vertiefen wollen.

Glyko-Immunologie  --  Die Zuckerseitenketten von Glykoproteinen anderer Arten weisen oft “fremde“ Strukturen auf und sind daher immunogen. Bei Allergenen von Pollen, Insektengiften oder pflanzlichen Lebensmitteln tragen Glykane auch zur IgE-Bindung bei. Die dafür verantwortlichen Zucker tragen in hohem Masse zur Kreuzreaktivität von Allergenen bei. Wir entwickeln verlässliche Methoden um gegen solche Zucker gerichtete IgE Antikörper zu messen bzw.  zu inhibieren. Da solche anti-CCD IgEs offenbar keine klinische Relevanz aufweisen, führen sie zu falsch-positiven Befunden bei der Serum-basierten Allergie-Diagnostik. Eine neue Initiative versucht hier – in Zusammenarbeit mit Firmen - eine einfache und billige Lösung in der diagnostischen Praxis zu implementieren.