Performance-related study grants - Attention! New regulation!

The compulsory tuition fee will be neither waived nor refunded for members of the states pursuant to § 92 section 9 of the Universities Act 2002, as determined by the Federal Minister in Appendix 1 of the corresponding regulation.  Instead, these students are eligible for a performance-related study grant under the following conditions.  

  1. Requirement to be eligible for payment of tuition fees of € 726.72.
  2. Examination passes in one semester corresponding to a minimum of 16 ECTS.
  3. As an alternative to examination passes, student grants can be awarded for one semester at the time of writing the final thesis, Master's thesis or for six semesters for the dissertation. A confirmation by the advisors is to be submitted, confirming that the student has started to work on their project (1st semester thesis/Master's thesis/dissertation) or that they are working with recognisable progress on the completion of their dissertation (second - sixth semester). 

The student must apply for a performance-related study grant by the end of the respective semester at the latest, which is February 28 or September 30.

The performance-related study grant amounts to € 700.- per semester or the maximum amount equalling the tuition fee that is to be paid to the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna. A performance-related grant is awarded within four weeks of completion of the semester and the money is paid out after October 1 or March 1.

A performance-related grant is awarded for a Bachelor's degree programme for a maximum of eight semesters, for a Master's degree programme for a maximum of six semesters and for a PhD programme for a maximum of eight semesters. 

If the student transfers to another academic programme or if they enrol in an additional programme, then the number of semesters of the first academic programme is taken into account. If a student transfers from a Diploma degree programme to a Bachelor's degree programme within the same field of study, then the semester hours completed within the Diploma degree programme will be accredited to the Bachelor's degree programme. No extensions are given for semesters on leave or semesters completed abroad in the context of a mobility programme.  

A performance-related study grant is awarded irrespective of the country issuing the secondary school leaving certificate. Members of the states pursuant to § 92 section 9 of the Universities Act 2002, as determined by the Federal Minister in Appendix 2 of the respective regulation, who are holders of an Austrian secondary school leaving certificate ( Reifeprüfungszeugnis) are free to choose whether they wish to pay the same tuition fee as Austrian students or whether they wish to apply for a performance-related study grant. Students who are registered in International Master programmes as host students cannot apply for a performance-related study grant.The application must be submitted to the Study Services. 

This regulation enters into effect on October 1, 2019. 
The Rector’s Office  

Appendix 1 of § 3 Tuition Fee Regulation 2004

Egypt, Albania, Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, China, Costa Rica, Ivory Coast, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Fiji, Georgia, Ghana, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Islamic Republic of Iran, Jamaica, Jordan, Cameroon, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Colombia, Congo, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Croatia, Cuba, Morocco, Marshall Islands, Macedonia, Federated States of Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Namibia, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Niue, Pakistan, Palestinian Territories, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Serbia and Montenegro, Zimbabwe, Sri Lanka, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, South Africa, Surinam, Swaziland, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Taiwan, Thailand, Tokelau, Tonga, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Wallis and Futuna, 

Appendix 2of § 3 Tuition Fee Regulation 2004

Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bahrain, Barbados, Botswana, Brazil, Chile, Cook Islands, Dominica, Gabon, Grenada, Lebanon, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mayotte, Mexico, Monserrat, Nauru, Oman, Palau, Panama, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, St. Helena, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Turks and Caicos Islands, Uruguay, Venezuela


Application for Performance-related study grants