Working group Toxinology

Toxinology is the area of science that deals with natural toxins (biotoxins), including their chemistry, mode of action, ecological roles and interaction with life forms. Our working group studies in particular toxic fungal metabolites (mycotoxins), their metabolisation in plants, toxicokinetics and detoxification.

Central to our work is the development and application of liquid chromatography – mass spectrometry (LC-MS) based methods to determine biomarkers. Biomarkers are objective, quantifiable characteristics of biological processes, medical states or exposure, which can be measured accurately and reproducibly.

Biomarkers allow to e.g.

  • assess the exposure to and uptake of compounds of interest by a given individual
  • conduct epidemiological studies to correlate toxin intake with potentially associated diseases
  • study the metabolism of compounds as part of toxicokinetic studies
  • assess the toxicity of metabolites (e.g. modified mycotoxins)
  • investigate the efficacy of detoxifiers (e.g. feed additives)
  • determine fluctuations in individual detoxification of certain compounds
  • describe the state of health of a given individual for a specific illness

We use targeted and untargeted LC-MS(/MS) approaches to detect, characterize and quantify known and novel metabolites. Toxinology is an incredibly interdisciplinary field of science with strong links to analytical chemistry, biochemistry, bioinformatics, medicine, microbiology, molecular biology, pharmacy, toxicology and veterinary medicine. In our case additional links are established to mycology and various plant sciences at the BOKU campus Tulln and abroad.

Current Research Projects

Short descriptions of all ongoing projects can be accessed from the research portal of the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna (BOKU).

Arbeitsgruppe Toxinology

Die Toxinologie ist das Wissenschaftsgebiet, welches sich mit natürlichen Toxinen (Biotoxinen) beschäftigt, einschließlich ihrer Chemie, Wirkungsweise, ökologischer Rolle und Interaktion mit Lebewesen. Unsere Arbeitsgruppe untersucht insbesondere toxische Pilzmetabolite (Mykotoxine), deren Metabolisierung in Pflanzen, sowie deren Toxikokinetik und Detoxifikation.

Im Mittelpunkt unserer Arbeit steht die Entwicklung und Anwendung von Flüssigchromatographie - Massenspektrometrie (LC-MS) basierten Methoden zur Bestimmung von Biomarkern. Biomarker sind objektive, quantifizierbare Merkmale von biologischen Prozessen, medizinischen Zuständen oder Expositionen, die genau und reproduzierbar gemessen werden können.

Biomarker ermöglichen z.B.

  • die Exposition gegenüber und die Aufnahme von Substanzen von Interesse für ein Individuum zu bewerten
  • epidemiologische Studien durchzuführen, um die Aufnahme von Toxinen mit potenziell assoziierten Krankheiten zu korrelieren
  • den Metabolismus von Substanzen als Teil von toxikokinetischen Studien zu untersuchen
  • Bewertung der Toxizität von Metaboliten (z. B. modifizierte Mykotoxine)
  • die Wirksamkeit von Detoxifikationsmitteln (z. B. Futtermittelzusatzstoffe) zu untersuchen
  • Schwankungen in der individuellen Entgiftung von bestimmten Verbindungen zu bestimmen
  • den Gesundheitszustand eines Individuums bzgl. einer bestimmten Krankheit zu beschreiben

Wir verwenden gezielte und ungezielte LC-MS(/MS)-Ansätze, um bekannte und neuartige Metaboliten zu detektieren, zu charakterisieren und zu quantifizieren. Die Toxinologie ist ein extrem interdisziplinäres Wissenschaftsgebiet mit starken Verbindungen zur analytischen Chemie, Biochemie, Bioinformatik, Medizin, Mikrobiologie, Molekularbiologie, Pharmazie, Toxikologie und Veterinärmedizin. In unserem Fall gibt es zusätzliche Verknüfungen zur Mykologie und zu verschiedenen Pflanzenwissenschaften am BOKU-Campus Tulln sowie international.

Aktuelle Forschungsprojekte

Kurzbeschreibungen aller laufenden Projekte der Arbeitsgruppe finden Sie im Forschungsportal der Universität für Bodenkultur Wien.