BOKU Sustainability Award 2019

Category Research / Call for Papers 2019

BOKU students and researchers are cordially invited to submit their sustainability-related research of the last three years for a presentation at the BOKU Sustainability Day (April 10, 2019) and thus for the BOKU Sustainability Award "Licht der Zukunft” (Light of the Future) in the category “Research”.

The BOKU Sustainability Award is endowed with 1.000 € (1), a trophy and a certificate.

Sustainability-related research is research that concerns issues of sustainable development in the broadest sense. In any case, research dealing with (single) Sustainable Development Goals and pursuing a system-oriented approach is included. For more information, see the evaluation criteria [2] or contact lisa.bohunovsky(at)boku.ac.at 

Submission:

Your research must be submitted via the submission form: DOWNLOAD SUBMISSIONFORM.

All submissions will be reviewed by a jury. The jury decides on presentations at the BOKU Sustainability Day, as well as three nominations and the winner of the BOKU Sustainability Award. All submitters will be notified by mid-March if their work has been selected for a presentation on the BOKU Sustainability Day or has been nominated for the BOKU Sustainability Award. Please stay free for the presentation (during the day) and for the award ceremony (18-20 o'clock) on April 10, 2019 or send an informed representative. The presentation on the BOKU Sustainability Day takes place in the Pecha Kucha format (see below).

Deadline: 20 February 2019

Submit the filled-in form by e-mail to lichtderzukunft (at) boku.ac.at.

Important information about the call:

  • Please use the pre-defined form for submission (see above). Full publications or master theses should be attached.
  • Submission is open to BOKU employees and BOKU students. Former BOKU students and employees can also submit papers that were created during that time as BOKU employees / students.
  • Only finished (submitted) publications, final reports of research projects, completed master theses, completed dissertations, etc. will be accepted. Minimum requirement: Master's level
  • Research papers from the last 3 years can be submitted.
  • Several abstracts can be submitted per person, however, a maximum of one lecture per person will be awarded. A work can also be submitted by several people. The prize money would have to be shared in case of the 1st prize.
  • Language for submissions and presentation: German or English
  • Maximum length of the abstracts: 350 words, sources should be limited to the short form, e.g. (Müller 2010)
  • By submitting you agree to the publication of your abstract.
  • Consent to the recording of your presentation in sound and image is requested (see form)

Evaluation criteria:

Musts:

  • Comprehensible explanation of how the work meets the principles and dimensions of sustainability in BOKU research according to BOKU's understanding of sustainability.
  • To what extent does the work deal with (individual) Sustainable Development Goals?
  • Does the work follow a system-oriented approach? (Are different dimensions of the problem addressed, i.e., scientific, technical, social, environmental, economic and / or cultural aspects?)

Other optional criteria:

  • Social impact
  • degree of innovation
  • involvement of young scientists

 


Presentation format at the BOKU Sustainability Day:

Pecha Kucha (20 slides à 20 seconds)

Pecha Kucha (pronounced: petscha-kucha, jap. Spelling ぺ ち ゃ く ち ゃ (hiragana), meaning "confused chattering, voices"), is a lecture technique in which for an oral presentation suitable images (slides) are projected on a wall. The number of slides is set with 20 as well as the 20-second duration of the projection time per slide. The total duration of the lecture is thus 6 minutes 40 seconds.

The advantages of this technique lies in the entertaining, concise presentation with rigid time limits, which make lengthy lectures and the associated fatigue of the listener ("death by powerpoint" syndrome) impossible from the outset. Here, the KISS principle is followed by using as little text as possible.

Source and more Information: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PechaKucha

The BOKU Sustainability Day will take place on 10th of april, 2019.


[1] Applies to payment to non-BOKU employees or associations, as well as inter-company payments. Payment to persons employed at BOKU results in lower payments as it is considered as a salary component with tax payments and social security contributions.

BOKU Nachhaltigkeitspreis "Licht der Zukunft" 2019

Kategorie Forschung / Call for Papers 2019

Studierende und Forscher/innen der BOKU sind herzlich eingeladen, ihre Nachhaltigkeits-bezogene Forschung der letzten drei Jahre für eine Präsentation am BOKU Nachhaltigkeitstag (10.4.2019) und damit für den BOKU Nachhaltigkeitspreis „Licht der Zukunft“ in der Kategorie Forschung einzureichen.

Der BOKU Nachhaltigkeitspreis ist mit 1.000 € [1] sowie einer Trophäe und Urkunde dotiert.

Was heißt „Nachhaltigkeitsbezogene Forschung“? Darunter verstehen wir Forschungsarbeiten, die Fragen einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung im weitesten Sinne betreffen. Arbeiten, die sich mit (einzelnen) Sustainable Development Goals beschäftigen und eine systemorientierte Betrachtungsweise verfolgen, gehören jedenfalls darunter. Weitere Anhaltspunkte finden Sie unter Evaluierungskriterien [2] Für Rückfragen wenden Sie sich bitte an lisa.bohunovsky(at)boku.ac.at 

Einreichformalitäten:

Die Arbeiten sind via Einreichformular einzureichen: DOWNLOAD EINREICHFORMULAR.

Alle eingereichten Arbeiten werden von einer Jury begutachtet. Die Jury entscheidet, welche Arbeiten am BOKU Nachhaltigkeitstag präsentiert werden, sowie wer die drei Nominierten und der/die PreisträgerIn des BOKU Nachhaltigkeitspreises in der Kategorie Forschung sind. Alle EinreicherInnen werden bis Mitte März verständigt, ob ihre Arbeit für eine Präsentation am BOKU Nachhaltigkeitstag ausgewählt bzw. für den BOKU Nachhaltigkeitspreis nominiert wurde. Bitte halten Sie sich den 10. April 2019 für die Präsentation (tagsüber) bzw. für die Preisverleihung (18-20Uhr) frei oder senden Sie eine informierte Vertretung. Die Präsentation am BOKU Nachhaltigkeitstag erfolgt im Pecha Kucha Format.

Einreichfrist: 20. Februar 2019

Einreichung unter Verwendung des Formulars per e-Mail an lichtderzukunft(at)boku.ac.at.

Wichtige Informationen zum Call:

  • Die Einreichung erfolgt über ein vorgegebenes Formular, bei dem ein Abstract und die Bezugnahme auf die Evaluierungskriterien (s. unten) verlangt werden. Vollständige Publikationen oder Masterarbeiten sollten angehängt werden. 
  • Einreichberechtigt sich MitarbeiterInnen und Studierende der BOKU. Auch ehemalige BOKU Studierende und MitarbeiterInnen können Arbeiten einreichen, die in der Zeit als BOKU MitarbeiterIn/StudierendeR entstanden sind.
  • Als Forschungsarbeiten gelten abgeschlossene Arbeiten, z.B. fertige (eingereichte) Publikationen, Endberichte von Forschungsprojekten, abgeschlossene Masterarbeiten, abgeschlossene Dissertationen, u.ä. Mindestanforderung: Masterarbeits-Niveau
  • Es können Forschungsarbeiten der letzten 3 Jahre eingereicht werden.
  • Es können pro Person mehrere Abstracts eingereicht werden, allerdings wird maximal ein Vortrag / Preis pro Person vergeben. Eine Arbeit kann auch von mehreren Personen eingereicht werden. Das Preisgeld müsste im Falle des 1. Preises geteilt werden.
  • Sprache für Einreichungen und Präsentation: Deutsch oder Englisch
  • Maximale Länge der Abstracts: 350 Wörter.
  • Quellen sollten auf die Kurzform beschränkt sein, z.B. (Müller 2010)
  • Mit der Einreichung stimmen Sie der Veröffentlichung Ihres Abstracts zu.
  • Zustimmung zur Aufzeichnung und Veröffentlichung Ihres Vortrags in Ton und Bild mit der Einreichung erbeten (s. Formular)

Evaluierungskriterien:

Musskriterien:

  • Nachvollziehbare Darlegung inwiefern die Arbeit den Prinzipien und Dimensionen der Nachhaltigkeit in der BOKU Forschung gemäß BOKU Nachhaltigkeitsverständnis entspricht.
  • Inwiefern setzt sich die Arbeit mit (einzelnen) Sustainable Development Goals auseinander?
  • Verfolgt die Arbeit eine systemorientierte Betrachtung? (Werden verschiedene Dimensionen des Problems angesprochen, d.h. naturwissenschaftliche, technische, soziale, ökologische, ökonomische und/oder kulturelle Aspekte?)

Weitere Kann-Kriterien:

  • gesellschaftlichen Impact
  • Innovationsgrad
  • Einbindung von Jungwissenschaftler/innen

Präsentationsformat am BOKU Nachhaltigkeitstag:

Pecha Kucha (20 Slides à 20 Sekunden)

Pecha Kucha (sprich: petscha-kutscha, jap. Schreibweise ぺちゃくちゃ (Hiragana), Bedeutung „wirres Geplauder, Stimmengewirr“), ist eine Vortragstechnik, bei der zu einem mündlichen Vortrag passende Bilder (Folien) an eine Wand projiziert werden. Die Anzahl der Bilder ist dabei mit 20 Stück ebenso vorgegeben wie die 20-sekündige Dauer der Projektionszeit je Bild. Die Gesamtdauer des Vortrags beträgt damit 6 Minuten 40 Sekunden.

Die Vorteile dieser Technik liegen in der kurzweiligen, prägnanten Präsentation mit rigiden Zeitvorgaben, die von vornherein langatmige Vorträge und die damit verbundene Ermüdung der Zuhörenden („death by powerpoint“ syndrome) unmöglich machen. Hierbei wird das KISS-Prinzip befolgt, indem möglichst wenig Text verwendet wird.

Der BOKU Nachhaltigkeitstag findet am 10. April 2019 statt.


Weiterführende Literatur zur Nachhaltigkeit:

http://www.boku.ac.at/wissenschaftliche-initiativen/zentrum-fuer-globalen-wandel-nachhaltigkeit/themen/nachhaltigkeit/vertiefendes/

Bei Interesse an weiteren Einreichungen beachten Sie bitte auch die Ausschreibungen in den anderen Kategorien Soziale Verantwortung bzw. Ökologische Verantwortung.

[1] Gilt für Auszahlung an nicht an der BOKU angestellte Personen oder Vereine, sowie Intercompany Verrechnung. Bei Auszahlung an Personen, die an der BOKU angestellt sind, gilt das Preisgeld als Gehaltsbestandteil und fällt durch Steuerleistungen und Sozialversicherungsbeiträge entsprechend geringer aus.