Printing


BOKUprint - Printing System Organization

In order to better understand the subsequently described printing modes, we would like to explain the system structure behind this concept. We hope that the text is not too technical for your taste.

The system basically consists of the following components:

  • work stations: here a print job is generated
  • printer servers: these solely receive the authenticated print jobs and transmit them to the
  • output management server: this server accepts the print job from the printer servers, analyses them, sends them on to the multifunctional units and brings the costs to account as soon as the printing actually takes place 
  • multifunctional units: these produce the print job and stand in direct communication with the output management server to report on the amount and kind of actually carried out printing 

The decisive aspect is that there is no direct connection between the work stations and the multifunctional units. This is especially important for administrators as well as all those who have to install printer drivers. 

Therefore, print jobs can only be

  • sent to the iPrint-Server (printer.boku.ac.at)

Using the iPrint server generally means that IPP v2.x (Port 631) is used as transmission protocol. The system requires an authentication prior to sending print jobs.

Pick-Up Mode (FollowMe, Secure)

Contrary to the classic method of direct printing, where you already decide which printer to use prior to sending your print job, we would like to warmly recommend the so-called pick-up mode (FollowMe, Secure).

Here you first send a print job to a virtual printer. The print job is saved on the server until it is picked up at one of the many printers that are connected to this virtual printer. In case the print job is not picked up within a maximum "storage time" (7 days) it is automatically deleted.

As the name already gives away, this mode is best used when printing confidential information.

Furthermore, this mode might help minimize error printouts as well as help limit abandoned printouts that gather in the printing units without ever being picked up.

Specifically iPrint-Servers are available for the following printer connections:

  • bokuprint-color
  • bokuprint-mono

These two connections only differ insofar as "bokuprint-color" already has colored printing as a preselection, while "bokuprint-mono" has grayscale printing as its preselection. This allows to easily install two printing options on your work station which can be chosen for your print jobs without having to change any settings for color or black and white printing.

Direct Mode

Although there is no direct connection from your work station to the printing units, there is still the possibility to immediately print on a specific multifunctional unit without prior registration at the unit.

The name of the available direct mode printers includes a number. This number can also be found on a sticker at the respective units.

When you, for example, wish to print directly on the unit with the number 99, simply choose the respective iPrint printer. The name always starts with "bokuprint-nr" and includes the number in its name. In our example the two iPrint printers are

  • bokuprint-nr99-color and
  • bokuprint-nr99-mono respectively.

(see printer.boku.ac.at)
In case that your institute unit does not have a direct mode printer, please get in touch with your IT contact person to see if such a unit is needed. If so, the IT contact person will let us know and we happily arrange direct mode printers for your multifunctional units.

This mode is generally not available in publicly placed units that are mainly meant for students.

BOKUprint - Drucksystemaufbau

Um die im Anschluss beschriebenen Druckmethoden besser zu verstehen, möchten wir Ihnen gerne in kurzen Worten die dahinterliegende Systemstruktur näherbringen, der Text ist hoffentlich nicht allzu technisch formuliert.

Das System besteht im Wesentlichen aus den folgenden Komponenten:

  • Arbeitsstationen, auf denen ein Druckauftrag generiert wird
  • Printserver, die diese Druckaufträge ausschliesslich authentifiziert von den Arbeitsstationen entgegennehmen und weiterleiten an den
  • Outputmanagement-Server, der die Druckaufträge von den Printservern entgegennimmt, analysiert, an die Multifunktionsgeräte weiterleitet und abrechnet, sobald der Ausdruck tatsächlich stattfand
  • Multifunktionsgeräte, die den Ausdruck produzieren und in direkter Kommunikation mit dem Outputmanagement-Server die Menge und die Art des tatsächlich erfolgten Ausdrucks rückmelden

Der entscheidende Aspekt ist, dass es von den Arbeitsstationen zu den Multifunktionsgeräten keinen direkten Weg gibt. Dies ist insbesondere für Administratoren, also für all jene, die Drucker-Treiber installieren müssen, von Bedeutung.

Es können Druckaufträge also ausschliesslich

  • an den Micro Focus iPrint-Server (printer.boku.ac.at)

gesendet werden, wobei beim iPrint-Server generell IPP v2.x (Port 631) als Übertragungsprotokoll Verwendung findet. Das System erfordert eine Authentifizierung, bevor man Druckaufträge absenden kann.

Abhol-Modus (FollowMe, Secure)

Im Gegensatz zur klassischen Methode des Direktdruckes, bei der man bereits beim Absenden des Druckauftrags entscheidet, auf welchem Drucker die Ausgabe erfolgen soll, möchten wir Ihnen den sogenannten Abhol-Modus (FollowMe,Secure) ans Herz legen.

Man schickt dabei den Druckauftrag zuerst an einen virtuellen Drucker, wobei der Druckauftrag am Server gespeichert bleibt, bis er auf einem der vielen, diesem virtuellen Drucker zugeordneten physischen Drucker abgeholt wird oder aber automatisch gelöscht wird, wenn der Druckauftrag eine maximal erlaubte "Lagerzeit" überschritten hat (7 Tage).

Wie bereits die Bezeichnung Secure aussagt, sollte man diesen Modus verwenden, wenn man vertrauliche Informationen ausdrucken will.
Des Weiteren kann dieser Modus dazu beitragen, dass Fehlausdrucke minimiert werden und sich am Gerät keine Ausdrucke mehr ansammeln, die nicht abgeholt werden.

Konkret stehen für diesen Modus am iPrint-Server folgende Drucker-Anschlüsse zur Verfügung:

  • bokuprint-color
  • bokuprint-mono
  • bokuprint-pcraum

Diese beiden Anschlüsse unterscheiden sich nur darin, dass bei der Installation von "bokuprint-color" der Farbdruck vorausgewählt ist, während bei "bokuprint-mono" der Graustufendruck vorausgewählt ist, was Ihnen ermöglicht, auf der Arbeitstation auf einfache Weise 2 verschiedene Druckerinstanzen zu installieren, die dann beim Ausdrucken direkt ausgewählt werden können, ohne Einstellungen ändern zu müssen, wenn Sie ein Dokument in Farbe und ein anderes in S/W drucken wollen.

Direkt-Modus

Obwohl es keinen direkten Weg von den Arbeitsstationen zu den Geräten gibt, besteht trotzdem die Möglichkeit, Ausdrucke an einem bestimmten Multifunktionsgerät sofort ausgeben zu lassen, ohne sich vorher am Gerät anmelden zu müssen.

Die Namen der verfügbaren Direkt-Modus-Drucker enthalten eine Nummer, die auch auf einem Aufkleber am jeweiligen Gerät zu finden sein sollte. 
Wollen Sie also beispielsweise auf dem Gerät mit der Nummer 99 direkt drucken, dann wählen Sie bitte die entsprechenden iPrint-Drucker, deren Name mit "bokuprint-nr" beginnt und diese Nummer im Namen enthalten, das wären also in diesem konkreten Beispiel die beiden iPrint-Drucker

  • bokuprint-nr99-color bzw.
  • bokuprint-nr99-mono

(siehe https://printer.boku.ac.at )


Sollte für Ihr Institutsgerät kein Direkt-Modus-Drucker verfügbar sein, dann nehmen Sie bitte mit Ihrem EDV-Verantwortlichen Kontakt auf, um den Bedarf abzuklären. Gerne richten wir auf Anfrage Ihres EDV-Verantwortlichen einen Direkt-Modus iPrint-Drucker für Ihr Multifunktionsgerät ein.

Auf öffentlich platzierten Geräten und Geräten, die primär für Studierende vorgesehen sind, ist dieser Modus nicht verfügbar.