The research group “climate and climate impact” focuses on the application of high resolution climate models within complex terrain, the analyses of key meteorological processes and works as an interface between climate and climate impact modelling groups in the field of hydrology, agriculture and forestry, tourism and the energy sector.

Research topics of this group are the optimization of the model set up for the Alpine area, the analysis of extreme precipitation, floods, landslides and droughts, the urban heat island effect, statistical downscaling and localization of climate projections and climate change policies and -communication.

Scientific Staff

 

Lead:

  • Assoc.Prof. Dr. Herbert Formayer [research database FIS]  Tel. +43-1-47654-81415, e-mail: herbert.formayer(at)boku.ac.at

Staff:

  • Becsi Benedikt, Dipl.-Ing. (PhD-student) [research database FIS] Tel. +43-1-47654-81416, 99114, e-mail: benedikt.becsi(at)boku.ac.at

  • Nikolaus Becsi, BSc [research database FIS] e-mail: nikolaus.becsi(at)students.boku.ac.at

  • Dipl.Ing. Barbara König, BEd  [research database FIS] Tel. +43-1-47654-81427, e-mail: barbara.koenig(at)boku.ac.at

  • Leidinger David, Mag.rer.nat. (PhD-student) [research database FIS] Tel. +43-1-47654-81414, e-mail: david.leidinger(at)boku.ac.at

  • Fabian Lehner, MSc (PhD-student) [research database FIS] Tel. +43-1-47654-81441, e-mail: fabian.lehner(at)boku.ac.at

  • Philipp Maier, BSc [research database FIS]e-mail: philipp.maier(at)boku.ac.at

  • Dr. Imran Nadeem, MSc [research database FIS] Tel. +43-1-47654-81413, e-mail: imran.nadeem(at)boku.ac.at

  • Katharina Schwarzfurtner, MSc [research database FIS] e-mail: katharina.schwarzfurtner@boku.ac.at

PhD-students::

  • Kristofer Hasel, MSc

Contributors from other groups:

 

Former staff:

  • Kristofer Hasel (2018 – 2020)

  •  Maria Wind (2017 – 2019)

  •  Anita Frisch (2016 – 2019)

  •  Asma Yaqub (2016 – 2018)

  •  Robert Goler (2011 – 2014)

  • Nauman Awan (2011 – 2014)

  •  Martin Schlatzer (2011 – 2013)

  •  Theresa Gorgas (2011 – 2012)

  •  Patrick Haas (2002 – 2011)

  •  Bernhard Pospichal (2010)

  •  Judith Käfer (2009 –2010)

  •  Sabine Radanovics (2006 – 2010)

  • Michael Hofstätter (2006 – 2009)

  • Helga Nefzger (1995 – 2005)

  • Christoph Matulla (2001 – 2004)

  • Nikolaus Groll (1995 – 1999)

Postal address:

Institut für Meteorologie
Universität für Bodenkultur
Gregor-Mendel-Straße 33
1180 Vienna
(Mendelhaus, 2. Floor) Fax +43-1-47654-81409