• Understanding the behavior of materials

    Materials Science at macro-, micro- and nanoscale

Our mission

The Institute of Physics and Materials Science focuses on the study of micro- and nanostructure of materials and their influence on the physical and mechanical properties. Our aim is the fundamental understanding of biological, bio-inspired and technical materials and utilization of this knowledge in co-operations with partners from industry and research organizations in national context and abroad.

In our teaching we provide introduction into fundamentals of physics and natural sciences and profession-relevant knowledge about materials. We also continously aim at stimulating the students' interest in natural science research.

Postgraduate Research Associate / Doctoral student Project employment “Why do Schwann cells like spider silk?”

We are looking for a doctoral student to perform their thesis research in the framework of the BOKU Doctoral School “Biomaterials and Biointerfaces”. The position is funded by the FWF project “Why do Schwann cells like spider silk?”

Management and Administration

Addresses & Contact

• Das Verhalten von Werkstoffen verstehen

    Materialwissenschaft auf Makro-, Mikro- und Nanoebene

Leitsatz

Kernkompetenz des Instituts für Physik und Materialwissenschaft ist die Erforschung der Mikro- und Nanostruktur von Werkstoffen und deren Einfluss auf das physikalische und mechanische Verhalten. Unser Ziel ist das grundlegende Verständnis von biologischen, bio-inspirierten und technischen Materialien und die Verwertung dieses Wissens in Kooperationen mit Industriepartnern und Forschungseinrichtungen des In- und Auslandes.

In der Lehre stehen wir für die Einführung in physikalisch-naturwissenschaftliche Grundlagen, die Vermittlung berufsrelevanten Fachwissens über Materialien und das Wecken von Neugier an der naturwissenschaftlichen Forschung.

Doktoratsstelle: Warum mögen Schwann Zellen Spinnenseide?

Wir suchen eine/n DoktoratsstudentIn für das vom FWF geförderten Projekt Warum mögen Schwann Zellen Spinnenseide?

Geänderter Prüfungsmodus wegen COVID-19

Prüfungen können momentan nicht persönlich abgehalten werden. Die meisten Prüfungen des Instituts werden allerdings als ZOOM Videokonferenz angeboten! Bitte konsultieren Sie BOKU online für Prüfungstermine und Informationen zu Ihrer spezifischen Lehrveranstaltung!

Leitung und Sekretariat

Adressen & Kontakt