832312 (Eco-) tourism & management of protected areas


Type
Lecture and field trip
Semester hours
2
Lecturer (assistant)
Hille, Sabine
Organisation
Offered in
Sommersemester 2020
Languages of instruction
Englisch

Content

In nature reserves there is an increase of tourist visits that is used for advertising these regions under the name "ecotourism" . Tourism inluences quaity of reserve and the animal populations. The relevance of the reserves as habitats for animal populations as well as for tourists is topic of this lecture that will cover international examples. Particularly the impact of tourism on physiology and behaviour and their habitats of animals will be covered. In the example of the Nationalpark Neusiedlersee we will in theory and in practice experience tourisms management and will discuss the management concept with Nationalpark Managers in the Park. We will experience ecotourism and biodiversity in this natutal site in a field trip

Previous knowledge expected

VERY GOOD ENGLISH ORAL AND WRITTEN
KNOWLEDGE IN ZOOLOGY

Objective (expected results of study and acquired competences)

The term ecotourism should be defined and the principles and rules behind should be understood and examples should be named. The importance of ecotourism in an international context should be understood and explained in different scenarios and reserve types. This includes trphy hunting, national parks, island refugees. Impact of tourism on animals and their habitats should be listed, explained and differentiated and applied to new international cases. With the example of the National Park Neusiedl the concept of ecotourism should be understood comprehensively and in detail. The student should learn Pros and cons of the concept exempliefied also at the National Park Neusiedlersee. The numerous facettes on how shaping good ecotourism should be known (selling local products, ranger systems, habitat management...) and the students should be able to transfer his knowledge to other National Parks. The student should experience and learn the value of natural sites by exploring natural habitats in the Neusiedl lake. Parameters in animal physiology and behhaviour shall be named and explained with examples. Cometence of discussing and critical analysing with students from other countries and study subjects shall be strengthened.


What is ecotourism and what is its role in protection of ecosystems, protected areas and animal populations? Management of protected areas should primarily suit the needs of specific wildlife species but there is increasing interest by tourist managers to take advantage of nature reserves for the use of Ecotourism.
You can find more details like the schedule or information about exams on the course-page in BOKUonline.

832312 (Eco-) tourism & management of protected areas (in Eng.)


Art
Vorlesung und Exkursion
Semesterstunden
2
Vortragende/r (Mitwirkende/r)
Hille, Sabine
Organisation
Angeboten im Semester
Sommersemester 2020
Unterrichts-/ Lehrsprachen
Englisch

Lehrinhalt

In Schutzgebieten werden zunehmend Touristenbesuche zu einem werbewirksamen Faktor; der "sanfte Tourismus" oder "Ökotourismus" nimmt Einfluß auf die Qualität von Lebensräumen und hat direkte und indirekte Auswirkungen auf das Vorkommen, die Verbreitung und das Überleben von Wildtieren.Die Bedeutung von "Naturflächen insbesondere Schutzgebieten" als Lebensräume für Wildtiere sowie für die Freizeitgestaltung in Form von Ökotourismus im internationalen soll hier behandelt werden. Insbesondere wird der Einfluß von verschiedenen Formen des Tourismus auf die Physiologie, das Verhalten von Tierpopulationen und ihre Lebensräume behandelt.

Am Beispiel des Nationalparks Neusiedlersee werden wir praktisch und theoretisch die Erfahrungen mit Tourismusmanagement mit den Mitarbeitern des Nationalparkhauses diskutieren und uns naturschutzfachliche wichtige Schutzgüter im Nationalpark anschauen

Inhaltliche Voraussetzungen (erwartete Kenntnisse)

SEHR GUTE ENGLISCHKENNTNISSE IN WORT UND SCHRIFT
Kenntnisse der Zoologie

Lehrziel

Der Terminus Ökotourismus soll definiert werden können und die Prinzipien sowie Grundregeln dahinter verstanden sowie Beispiele aus "good parctice" genannt werden können. Seine Bedeutung soll international differenziert an verschiedenen Szenarien und Schutzgebieten erklärt werden können. Dazu zählen Trophäenjagd, Nationalparks, Inselrefugien etc. Es sollen die Auswirkungen von Tourismus auf Lebensraum, Biotop, Habitat und Populationen gennant und differenzoiert werden können und auf internationale Fallbeispiele angewendet werden. Am Beispiel des Nationalparks Neusiedlersee soll das Konzept Ökotourismus ganzheitlich verstanden werden und gelernt werden das Konzept mit den Vor- und Nachteilen und den zahlreichen Facetten der Gestaltungsmöglichghkeiten (Vermarktung von lokalen Produkten, Naturführungen, Flächenmanagement... ) auf andere Schutzgebiete übertragen zu können. Parameter der Tierphysiologie und des Tierverhaltens sollen genannt und im angewandten Beispiel erklärt werden können. Es soll die Kompetenz des Diskutierens und kritischen Analysierens mit Vertretern aus unterschiedlichsten Ländern und verschiedenen Fachbereichen gestärkt werden.
Noch mehr Informationen zur Lehrveranstaltung, wie Termine oder Informationen zu Prüfungen, usw. finden Sie auf der Lehrveranstaltungsseite in BOKUonline.