834101 Conservation biology (UBRM)


Type
Lecture
Semester hours
2
Lecturer (assistant)
Meimberg, Harald , Hollerer, Anna
Organisation
Offered in
Wintersemester 2019/20
Languages of instruction
Englisch

Content

The class gives an introduction in topics of natural sciences relevant for conservation of biodiversity, like the mechanisms of extinction and consequences of habitat loss in comparison to natural processes. In addition it gives an overview about concepts for conservation that can been outlined from biological sciences. The class covers four major areas: the evolution of biodiversity, the biodiversity crisis and its causes, mechanisms of natural and human mediated extinctions and the population dynamics in small and declining populations.
Examples for Topics are:
What is Biodiversity, how did it evolve, how can it be defined? The species as unit of conservation; Geological mass extinctions and the concept of Anthropozene; Historical Extinction of common and rare species; „The evil quartet (or sextet), Jarod Diamond (1984)“ – Exploitation, - Habitat destruction and Fragmentation, -Species introductions and –chains od extinctions; Extinction dynamics as biological discipline;
The students will know the major scientific basics that play a role in nature conservation and can describe them. They can identify the concepts for nature conservation that can be outlined from biological sciences.

Previous knowledge expected

none

Objective (expected results of study and acquired competences)

The students will know the major scientific basics that play a role in nature conservation and can describe them. They can identify the concepts for nature conservation that can be outlined from biological sciences.
You can find more details like the schedule or information about exams on the course-page in BOKUonline.

834101 Conservation biology (UBRM) (in Eng.)


Art
Vorlesung
Semesterstunden
2
Vortragende/r (Mitwirkende/r)
Meimberg, Harald , Hollerer, Anna
Organisation
Angeboten im Semester
Wintersemester 2019/20
Unterrichts-/ Lehrsprachen
Englisch

Lehrinhalt

Die Vorlesung bietet eine Einführung in Themen der Naturwissenschaften die für den Schutz der Biodiversität relevant sind, wie die Mechanismen des Aussterbens und die Konsequenzen von Habitat-Verlust im Vergleich zu natürlichen Prozessen. Darüber hinaus werden Naturschutzkonzepte vorgestellt die aus den biologischen Wissenschaften abgeleitet werden können. Die Vorlesung ist in vier wesentliche Bereiche gegliedert: Die Evolution der Biodiversität, Die Biodiversitätskrise und ihre Ursachen, Mechanismen von anthropogenen und natürlichem Aussterben, sowie die Populations-Dynamik in kleinen und zurückgehenden Populationen.
Beispiele für Themen sind:
Was ist Biodiversität, wie ist sie entstanden, wie kann sie definiert werden? Die Art als Einheit des Naturschutzes; Geologische Massenaussterbe-Ereignissen und das Konzept des Anthropozäns; Historisches Aussterben von häufigen und seltenen Arten; „The evil quartet (or sextet), Jarod Diamond (1984)“ – Ausbeutung, - Habitat Zerstörung und Fragmentierung, -Einführung von Arten –Aussterbe Ketten; Aussterbe Dynamik als Biologische Disziplin;

Inhaltliche Voraussetzungen (erwartete Kenntnisse)

keine

Lehrziel

Die Studenten sollen die wesentlichen wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen kennen die auf den Naturschutz angewendet werden können und können diese beschreiben. Sie können die Konzepte für den Naturschutz , die sich daraus ergeben identifizieren.
Noch mehr Informationen zur Lehrveranstaltung, wie Termine oder Informationen zu Prüfungen, usw. finden Sie auf der Lehrveranstaltungsseite in BOKUonline.