731393 Institutional innovation and sustainability transformation


Type
Lecture and exercise
Semester hours
2
Lecturer (assistant)
Radinger-Peer, Verena , Penker, Marianne , Quinones-Ruiz, Xiomara-Fernanda
Organisation
Offered in
Sommersemester 2022
Languages of instruction
Englisch

Content

The United Nation’s 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development calls for “bold and transformative steps” to address the great challenges. Climate change, social polarisation, terrorism, migration movements, debt crises or biodiversity loss threaten to exceed the problem-solving capacity of politics and economy. Dangerous side effects are inter alia the loss of legitimacy of the market economy and of the democratic state. Starting from a basic knowledge of the sustainability discourse, of the importance of institutions and innovations for a social transformation process, the course gives particular attention to institutional innovations on the regional level. Pioneers of change experiment with institutional innovations like citizen solar power plants, community supported agriculture, sharing initiatives, open technological laboratories and co-working-spaces etc. In the focus of the course are their formal and informal structures and their potential contribution to a sustainability transformation.
.

Previous knowledge expected

Basic knowledge of the sustainability discourse, political sciences, law, sociology, regional development
.

Objective (expected results of study and acquired competences)

•critical reflection of the historical concept of Great Transformation (K. Polanyi) and of the transformations requested by the United Nations in order to achieve the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs),
•awareness of the importance of social rules / norms / institutions for social transformation processes,
•understanding of selected theoretical and methodological fundamentals of institutional analysis and the ability to apply them to sustainability solutions on the local level; e.g. consumption-production-partnerships (citizen solar power plants, community supported agriculture, food co-operations etc.), crowd-sourcing-/sharing-initiatives, open technological laboratories and co-creation-/co-working-spaces,
•knowledge of local transformation management processes, methods, tools and their application,
•abilities to develop, implement and adaptively enhance institutional innovations to foster a sustainability transformation.
You can find more details like the schedule or information about exams on the course-page in BOKUonline.

731393 Institutional innovation and sustainability transformation (in Eng.)


Art
Vorlesung und Übung
Semesterstunden
2
Vortragende/r (Mitwirkende/r)
Radinger-Peer, Verena , Penker, Marianne , Quinones-Ruiz, Xiomara-Fernanda
Organisation
Angeboten im Semester
Sommersemester 2022
Unterrichts-/ Lehrsprachen
Englisch

Lehrinhalt

Die Vereinigten Nationen fordern in ihrer 2030 Agenda für nachhaltige Entwicklung „kühne und transformative Schritte“, um den großen Herausforderrungen begegnen zu können. Klimawandel, soziale Polarisation, Terror, Migrationsbewegungen, Verschuldungskrisen oder Biodiversitätsverlust drohen die Problemlösungskapazität von Politik und Wirtschaft zu übersteigen. Gefährliche Begleiterscheinungen sind u.a. Legitimationsverlust der Marktwirtschaft und des demokratischen Rechtsstaates. Ausgehend von einem grundlegenden Verständnis des Nachhaltigkeitsdiskurses, der Bedeutung von Institutionen sowie Innovationen für einen gesellschaftlichen Transformationsprozess, gilt das besondere Augenmerk der Lehrveranstaltung institutionellen Innovationen auf regionaler Ebene. Pioniere des Wandels experimentieren mit institutionellen Innovationen, wie Bürgersolarkraftwerken, Community Supported Agriculture, Sharing Initiativen, Offenen Technologielaboren, Co-Working Spaces etc. Deren formelle und informelle Strukturen und ihr potentieller Beitrag zu einer Nachhaltigkeitstransformation stehen im Zentrum der Lehrveranstaltung.
.

Inhaltliche Voraussetzungen (erwartete Kenntnisse)

grundlegende Kenntnisse des Nachhaltigkeitsdiskurses, Grundlagenwissen aus Politikwissenschaften, Recht, Soziologie, Regionalentwicklung
.

Lehrziel

•Kritische Reflexion des historischen Konzepts der Großen Transformation (K. Polanyi) und der seitens der United Nations geforderten Transformation zur Erreichung der Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs),
•Wissen um die Bedeutung von gesellschaftlichen Regeln / Normen / Institutionen und von regionalen Innovationen für gesellschaftliche Transformationsprozesse,
•Fähigkeit Prototypen institutioneller Innovationen identifizieren und hinsichtlich ihres Potentials für Up-/Outscaling und hinsichtlich ihrer transformativen Kapazität beurteilen zu können,
•Kenntnis ausgewählter theoretischer Grundlagen der Institutionenanalyse und Fähigkeit ihrer Anwendung anhand neuer Nachhaltigkeitslösungen auf der regionalen Ebene; z.B. Konsum-Produktionspartnerschaften (Bürgersolarkraftwerke, Community Supported Agriculture, Food Co-operations, …), Crowd-sourcing-/Sharing-Initiativen, offene Technologielabore und Co-Kreation/Co-Working Spaces,
•Kenntnisse zu Prozessen, Methoden und Werkzeugen für regionales Transformationsmanagement und deren Anwendung,
•Fähigkeit zur Erarbeitung, Implementierung, und adaptiven Weiterentwicklung institutioneller Innovationen für eine Nachhaltigkeitstransformation.
Noch mehr Informationen zur Lehrveranstaltung, wie Termine oder Informationen zu Prüfungen, usw. finden Sie auf der Lehrveranstaltungsseite in BOKUonline.