856323 Applied system dynamics modelling in transport


Type
Lecture and seminar
Semester hours
2
Lecturer (assistant)
Hartwig, Lukas , Pfaffenbichler, Paul Christian , Gühnemann, Astrid
Organisation
Offered in
Wintersemester 2021/22
Languages of instruction
Englisch

Content

System Dynamics (SD) models can be used to identify leverage points to control and manage complex transport systems. The use of SD models as a tool in strategic planning and decision making is on the rise. Examples are the assessment of the policies of the Austrian Climate Strategy, the assessment of societal effects of automated driving or the assessment of European transport strategies. A focus of operational SD models is the interaction between land use and transport (LUTI – Land Use and Transport Interaction Models). Knowledge about SD in general and operational models in particular enriches the toolbox of students as future transport or landscape planners.
The objective of the course is to enable students to develop and use their own SD models in the context of today’s challenges in transport planning and policy. The lectures start with a brief introduction into system thinking and qualitative SD methods. The focus of the course is the introduction into quantitative SD methods (Stock-Flow-modelling) and validation methods. An overview of existing transport related operational SD model will be given. Interactive elements, e.g. the Fishbanks simulation or Group Model Building, introduce the students into the principle challenges of controlling complex dynamic systems. Students will develop their own quantitative SD model for a specific task in transport planning in form of a group work. Tutorials and computer workshops will support this process. Finally, a report about the process of model building, the resulting model and a critical discussion of simulation results has to be written.

Previous knowledge expected

Attendance of course 856322 "System analysis, strategic planning and policy modelling with system dynamics" or equal knowledge in system analysis and modelling, basic knowledge in transport planning, e.g. course 856320 „Verkehr und Umwelt“, are strongly recommended.

Objective (expected results of study and acquired competences)

By the end of the course, students will be able
a) to use qualitative SD methods to analyse and communicate complex systems in the transport context,
b) to develop and validate quantitative SD models in the transport context,
c) to use SD software (Vensim, InsightMaker),
d) to critically discuss and summarise simulation results,
e) to simulate and assess external scenarios and policy scenarios using SD models and
f) have basic knowledge about the integration of SD models into hybrid simulation environments.
You can find more details like the schedule or information about exams on the course-page in BOKUonline.

856323 Applied system dynamics modelling in transport (in Eng.)


Art
Vorlesung und Seminar
Semesterstunden
2
Vortragende/r (Mitwirkende/r)
Hartwig, Lukas , Pfaffenbichler, Paul Christian , Gühnemann, Astrid
Organisation
Angeboten im Semester
Wintersemester 2021/22
Unterrichts-/ Lehrsprachen
Englisch

Lehrinhalt

System Dynamics Modelle geben Aufschluss über die Beeinflussbarkeit und Steuerung komplexer Zusammenhänge in Verkehrssystemen und werden zunehmend in der strategischen Planung und Politikvorbereitung im Verkehrssektor eingesetzt. Beispiele für Anwendungen sind in der Beurteilung der Wirksamkeit von Maßnahmen der Klimastrategie Österreichs, der Auswirkungen der Automatisierung im Verkehr, oder der Bewertung Europäischer Verkehrsstrategien. Ein Schwerpunkt existierender Modelle ist die integrierte Landnutzungs- und Verkehsmodellierung (LUTI – Land Use and Transport Interaction Models). Kenntnisse dieser Methode und existierender System Dynamics Modelle im Verkehrsbereich erweitern daher den methodischen Baukasten der Studierenden für ihre zukünftigen Aufgaben als Verkehrsplaner und Landschaftsplaner.

Ziel dieser Vorlesung ist es, Studierende in die Lage zu versetzen, selbständig System Dynamics Modelle im Verkehr zu entwickeln und auf aktuelle Fragestellungen in Verkehrsplanung und –politik anzuwenden. Im Vorlesungsteil wird eine kurze Einführung in Systemdenken und System Dynamics Modellierung gegeben, qualitative sowie quantitative System Dynamics Modellierungstechniken und Validierungsmethoden vorgestellt und ein Überblick über existierende System Dynamics Anwendungen im Verkehr gegeben. Durch interaktive Elemente, z.B. die zu Lehrzwecken entwickelte Fishbanks Simulation, erfahren die Studierenden die grundsätzlichen Herausforderungen der Steuerung dynamische, komplexer Systeme. Die Studierenden werden dann in Gruppen ein System Dynamics Modell für ein aktuelles Verkehrsproblem entwickeln und im Seminar präsentieren. Zur Begleitung und Hilfestellung werden betreute Tutorien und Computer Workshops angeboten. Abschließend wird ein Projektbericht mit der Beschreibung des Modellbildungsprozesses und des entwickelten Modells, sowie einer kritischen Diskussion der Simulationsergebnisse gefordert.

Inhaltliche Voraussetzungen (erwartete Kenntnisse)

Der Besuch der LV 856322 "System analysis, strategic planning and policy modelling with system dynamics" oder gleichwertige Grundkenntnisse der Systemanalyse und –modellierung sowie Grundkenntnisse in der Verkehrsplanung, z.B. aus der Vorlesung „Verkehr und Umwelt“ werden empfohlen.

Lehrziel

Anhand von Theorievermittlung und Fallstudien sowie durch die eigenständige Erstellung von System Dynamics Modellen am Computer sind die Studierenden nach erfolgreichem Abschluss der Lehrveranstaltung in der Lage
a)qualitative Methoden zur Analyse und Kommunikation komplexer Systeme im Verkehr anzuwenden,
b)quantitative systemdynamische Modelle für Verkehrssysteme zu entwickeln und zu validieren,
c)System Dynamics Software (Vensim, InsightMaker) zu nutzen,
d)Modellergebnisse kritisch zu interpretieren und zusammenfassend zu berichten,
e)politische, strategische und Entwicklungsszenarien im Verkehr mittels System Dynamics Modellen zu simulieren und zu bewerten und
f)besitzen Grundkenntnisse zur Einbindung von System Dynamics in integrierte und hybride Simulationsumgebungen.
Noch mehr Informationen zur Lehrveranstaltung, wie Termine oder Informationen zu Prüfungen, usw. finden Sie auf der Lehrveranstaltungsseite in BOKUonline.