Latest SCI publications

Latest Projects


The project is dedicated to the leisure and recreational use of mountain biking, taking into account the different interests of use, which are developing around the theme of "mountain biking in nature". In order to examine the different aspects and levels of mountain biking in Austria, case studies will be carried out at regional level (Pinzgau and Wienerwald regions) and at provincial level (Upper Austria and Tyrol). Fact-finding missions and guideline-based interviews with representatives from the fields of MTB, land ownership/forestry/agriculture, hunting, tourism, region (municipality, relevant authorities, nature conservation, etc.) enable the analysis of similarities and differences in the respective case studies, as well as the gathering of experience on participation processes. The central objective of the project is to develop an expert proposal for recommendations for action based on the results and experiences of the participative case studies and the interdisciplinary working group accompanying the project. This catalogue of facts on the subject of mountain biking is intended to identify potential conflicts and interests and to provide recommendations for action and solutions for all those involved in the development of mountain biking concepts.

As a follow-up to the first and second SEA report elaborated in 2008 and 2013 in compliance with the SEA Directive (2001/42/EC), this third application of a Strate-gic Environmental Assessment builds upon a methodological approach tested al-ready in the previous two assessment process but can additionally integrate results of the monitoring process (mid-term monitoring Alpine Space Programme 2014-2020). The project will in its research focus reflect the direct and incremental benefits of SEA application over two decades, its role in the overall process and particularly its capacity to tackle emerging topics such as climate change and SDGs. Through the first integration of monitoring results the methodological approach elaborated, discussed against the background of other approaches and published previously can be challenged and examined with new data.

The project investigates the potential of open spaces owned by the Austrian Federal Railways (ÖBB) that are outside the danger and operation zones and that are currently not in use. Areas of this type are lots along the rail tracks, embankments, green spaces, protective forests, etc. managed by the Austrian Federal Railways. The goal is to estimate the potential of these areas for a sustainable development and added value of these currently unused resources. The research question is "What economic, social and ecological potentials can be generated with a temporary utilisation depending on different categories?" Therefore, methods will be developed to assess the potential for different target groups and purposes in compliance with the regular rail operations.

Supervised Theses and Dissertations

Neueste SCI Publikationen

Neueste Projekte

Forschungsprojekt aus §26 oder §27 Mitteln
Laufzeit : 2019-06-25 - 2021-03-24

Das Projekt widmet sich der Freizeit- und Erholungsnutzungsart Mountainbiken unter Einbeziehung der unterschiedlichen Nutzungsinteressen, welche sich rund um die Thematik „Mountainbiken in der Natur“ entwickeln. Zur Betrachtung der unterschiedlichen Aspekte und Ebenen von Mountainbiken in Österreich werden Fallstudien auf regionaler Ebene (Regionen Pinzgau und Wienerwald) und auf Ebene der Bundesländer (Oberösterreich und Tirol) durchgeführt. Factfinding-Missionen und leitfadenbasierenden Interviews mit Vertretern aus den Bereichen MTB, Grundbesitz/Forstwirtschaft/Landwirtschaft, Jagd, Tourismus, Region (Gemeinde, relevante Behörden, Naturschutz etc.) ermöglichen die Analyse von Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschieden der jeweiligen Fallstudien, sowie dem Sammeln von Erfahrungen zu Partizipationsprozessabläufen. Zentrales Ziel des Projekts ist Erarbeitung eines ExpertInnen Vorschlags für Handlungsempfehlungen anhand der Ergebnisse und Erfahrungen aus den partizipativen Fallstudien und der projektbegleitenden, interdisziplinären Arbeitsgruppe. Dieser Sachstandskatalog zum Thema Mountainbiken soll Konfliktpotenziale und Interessen aufzeigen und Handlungsempfehlungen sowie Lösungsansätze für alle Beteiligten in der Entwicklung von Mountainbike-Konzepten bereitstellen.
Forschungsprojekt aus §26 oder §27 Mitteln
Laufzeit : 2019-05-15 - 2020-12-31

In Folge des ersten und zweiten SUP-Berichts, die 2008 und 2013 in Übereinstimmung mit der SEA-Richtlinie (2001/42 / EG) erstellt wurden, basiert diese dritte Anwendung einer strategischen Umweltprüfung auf einem bereits getesteten methodischen Ansatz in den beiden vorhergehenden Bewertungsverfahren können jedoch zusätzlich Ergebnisse des Überwachungsprozesses einfließen (Halbzeit-Monitoring des Alpenraumprogramm 2014–2020). Das Projekt wird in seinem Forschungsschwerpunkt die direkten und inkrementellen Vorteile der SUP-Anwendung über zwei Jahrzehnte untersuchen, ihre Rolle im Gesamtprozess und insbesondere ihre Fähigkeit, aufkommende Themen wie Klimawandel und SDGs zu beachten. Durch die erstmalige Integration von Monitoring-Ergebnissen kann der methodische Ansatz hinterfragt und mit neuen Daten überprüft werden.
Forschungsprojekt aus §26 oder §27 Mitteln
Laufzeit : 2018-09-01 - 2021-12-31

Das Projekt untersucht Nutzungsmöglichkeiten und Potentiale von ÖBB-Freiflächen, die nicht betrieblich genutzt werden, sich nicht im Gefahrenraum befinden und keine unmittelbare betriebliche Funktion erfüllen. Dies betrifft z.B. Flächen neben der Bahntrasse, wie Böschungen, Grünflächen, Schutzwälder etc. die sich im Eigentum der ÖBB befinden und für deren Erhalt die ÖBB zuständig ist. Ziel ist die Entwicklung von Nutzungskonzepten für eine synergetische Nutzung und Mehrwertgenerierung dieser aktuell kaum genutzten Ressourcen. Die zentrale Forschungsfrage des Projektes lautet: Welche wirtschaftlichen, sozialen und ökologischen Potentiale ergeben sich durch die Zwischennutzung von ÖBB Freiflächen in Abhängigkeit von unterschiedlichen Flächentypen? Hierzu werden Methoden entwickelt, die Potentiale zu ermitteln und eine extensive Nutzung von Grundflächen, im Einklang mit dem Bahnbetrieb, für verschiedene Zielgruppen attraktiv erscheinen lassen.

Betreute Hochschulschriften