• The Institute of Chemistry of Renewables Resources ...

    ... investigates the chemistry of the future, which is based on sustainable resources. The focus is on the chemistry and analysis of lignocelluloses and biomass, biorefineries, new analytical and separation processes and modern methods and reactions of "green chemistry".

Chemistry of Renewable Resources

The institute is positioned at the interface between organic and analytical chemistry, polymer chemistry and natural product chemistry. As the name suggests, it deals with the chemistry, structure and analysis of renewable resources. The research covers all aspects of modern organic synthetic chemistry, structural-chemical aspects and development of analytical methods. The focus is on the following topics:

  • Celluloses (chemistry, structure and chemical modification), cellulose production (pulping & bleaching), cellulose solutions and cellulose solvents, cellulosic fibers and textiles, paper and paper chemistry, historical cellulosic materials, aging processes in cellulosic products
  • Nanostructured celluloses and new cellulosic high-tech products
  • Advanced cellulose analysis (molecular weight distributions, profiles of functional groups, chromophore analysis, hemicelluloses)
  • Native and technical lignins (chemistry, structure and chemical modification), structure-property-application relationships for lignins, new non-energetic applications of lignins (binders, gels, foams), lignins as starting materials for chemicals
  • Advanced lignin analysis (molecular weight distributions, functional groups, linkage analysis)
  • New biomaterials (aerogels, functional fibers, medical applications)
  • Extractives (separation, identification, testing) and secondary metabolites in plant materials and their application
  • Chemistry and applications of phenolic antioxidants
  • Biorefineries, biorefinery analytics and novel separation and analysis methods for their complex product streams
  • "Green Chemistry" (chemical reactions that are gentle on resources and the environment, solvent-free, energy-saving and atomic-economic conversions, microwave syntheses, new reaction media).

The working group is very multi-national and involved in a variety of national and international collaborations. As services, we offer various aspects of chemistry and analysis of lignocellulosic materials and products.

Group Rosenau

Chemistry of Renewable Resources
The group "Chemistry of Renewable Resources" is concerned with the chemical structure and transformation of natural raw materials and coordinates the scientific work at the institute. The research areas comprise organic and analytical chemistry as well as polymer and natural product chemistry.

Group Potthast

Biopolymer and Paper Analytics
Research in the group “Biopolymer and Paper Analytics” covers the whole range of analytical issues related to lignocelluloses and polysaccharides, especially cellulose, hemicelluloses and lignin.

Group Liebner

Chemistry of Biomaterials
The development of bioinspired ultra-light and open-porous materials, equipped with special properties, is a central topic of the research group. Applications, such as thermal super-isolation, energy storage, (bio)sensors, controlled drug release and cell culture technology are in the focus of the work.

Management and Administration

Addresses & Contact

• Das Institut für Chemie nachwachsender Rohstoffe ...

    ... erforscht die Chemie der Zukunft, die auf nachhaltigen Ressourcen aufbaut. Der Fokus liegt auf der Chemie und Analytik von Lignocellulosen und Biomasse, Bioraffinerien, neuen Analyse- und Trennverfahren und modernen Methoden und Reaktionen der "grünen Chemie".

Chemie nachwachsender Rohstoffe

Das Institut ist im Grenzbereich von organischer und analytischer Chemie, Polymerchemie und Naturstoffchemie angesiedelt. Es befasst sich, wie der Name bereits sagt, mit der Chemie, Struktur und Analytik von nachwachsenden Ressourcen. Die Forschung umfasst alle Aspekte moderner organischer Synthesechemie, strukturchemische Aspekte und  Entwicklung analytischer Methoden. Die Schwerpunkte liegen dabei auf folgenden Themen:

  • Cellulosen (Chemie, Struktur und chemische Modifikation), Cellulosegewinnung (pulping & bleaching), Celluloselösungen und Celluloselösungsmittel, cellulosische Fasern und Textilien, Papier und Papierchemie, historische cellulosische Materialien, Alterungsvorgänge in cellulosischen Produkten
  • Nanostrukturierte Cellulosen und neue cellulosische High-tech-Produkte
  • Moderne Celluloseanalytik (Molekulargewichtsverteilungen, Profile funktioneller Gruppen, Chromophorenanalytik, Hemicellulosen)
  • Native und technische Lignine (Chemie, Struktur und chemische Modifikation), Struktur-Eigenschafts-Anwendungs-Beziehungen bei Ligninen, neue, nichtenergetische Anwendungen von Ligninen (Binder, Gele, Schäume), Lignine als Ausgangsstoffe für Chemikalien
  • Moderne Ligninanalytik (Molekulargewichtsverteilungen, funktioneller Gruppen, linkage analysis)
  • Neue Biomaterialien (Aerogele, funktionelle Fasern, medizinische Anwendungen)
  • Extraktstoffe (Trennung, Identifizierung, Testung) und Sekundärmetabolite in pflanzlichen Materialien und deren Anwendung
  • Chemie und Anwendungen phenolischer Antioxidantien
  • Bioraffinerine, Bioraffinerie-Analytik und neuartige Trenn- und Analyseverfahren für deren komplexe Stoffströme
  • „Grüne Chemie“ (ressourcen- und umweltschonende chemische Reaktionen, lösungsmittelfreie, energieschonende und atomökonomische Umsetzungen, Mikrowellensynthesen, neue Reaktionsmedien).

Die Arbeitsgruppe ist sehr international ausgerichtet und in vielfältige nationale und internationale Kooperationen eingebunden. Als Service werden verschiedenste Aspekte der Chemie und Analytik lignocellulosischer Materialien und Produkte angeboten.

Arbeitsgruppe Rosenau

Chemie nachwachsender Rohstoffe
Die Arbeitsgruppe „Chemie nachwachsender Rohstoffe“ beschäftigt sich mit der chemischen Struktur und Umwandlung von natürlichen Rohstoffen und koordiniert die Arbeiten am Instituts. Die Forschungsgebiete umfassen organische und analytische Chemie als auch Polymer- und Naturstoffchemie.

Arbeitsgruppe Potthast

Biopolymer- und Papieranalytik
Die Forschung in der Arbeitsgruppe "Biopolymer- und Papieranalytik" umfasst das gesamte Spektrum von analytischen Fragen im Zusammenhang mit Lignocellulosen und Polysacchariden, insbesondere Cellulose, Hemicellulosen und Lignin.

Arbeitsgruppe Liebner

Chemie der Biomaterialien
Die chemische Modifikation und Konvertierung der erneuerbaren Biopolymere Cellulose, Hemicellulose und Lignin in neue Mehrwert-Produkte ist der Forschungsschwerpunkt der Gruppe "Chemie der Biomaterialien".

Leitung und Sekretariat

Adressen & Kontakt