Latest SCI publications

Latest Projects

Research project (§ 26 & § 27)
Duration : 2019-04-01 - 2022-03-31

In the farming region of Eastern Austria, an operational group (OG) consisting of organic farmers, consultants, scientists, stakeholders, as well as partners from the economy is to be established on the topic of water-saving organic agriculture. The objective is to test strategies for adaptation to climate change in agriculture. These strategies include adapted conservation tillage (no-till methods, crops: maize, soybean), the use of farm crops as transfer mulch (to maize, potatoes), and the comparison of fertilization systems as well as testing various tillage techniques (cultivator vs. plow) in a long-term trial. These strategies make a significant contribution to adaption to climate change and to mitigate climate change-related water scarcity. In addition to soil and plant-based results, this study also provides insights into the labor and economic impacts for each farm.
Research project (§ 26 & § 27)
Duration : 2019-02-01 - 2021-01-31

Wild food gathering was repeatedly found to be one of the most popular outdoor activities in Europe and the commercialization of wild foods is increasingly discovered as bearing significant economic potential. Wild foods are marketed as innovative and trendy products bearing exceptional health benefits and unique flavors and about 100 million EU citizens were estimated to consume wild foods. Urban and suburban areas have high potential for commercializing but also sourcing wild foods but concerns of overexploitation of urban green spaces and unsustainable gathering practices has arisen. Such concerns are hardly ever backed up with scientific evidence about the potential and limits for sustainable harvesting in urban areas. This research project aims to counteract this gap of knowledge and aims to understand the ecological and socio-political sustainability of wild food gathering in urban areas. Research is guided by the overarching research question ‘How sustainable is gathering wild foods in urban areas?’, which is investigated through adapting a conceptual framework for sustainable gathering so far used in rural areas of countries in the global south. Investigating sustainable gathering in urban areas in Europe is innovative from the ground up. It fosters the sustainable provision, processing and consumption of local resources, as supported by the concept of bioeconomy, and the attainment of the UN Sustainable development goals 11 and 12. Research is conducted in Vienna, Austria, along a sequential exploratory mixed-methods design. Semi-structured expert interviews with 30 local experts for wild food gathering, are followed-up with several hundred face-to-face surveys with urban gatherers in eight gathering hotspots in urban and suburban green spaces.
Research project (§ 26 & § 27)
Duration : 2018-09-01 - 2023-08-31

EdiCitNet develops a reference framework on nature-based Edible City Solutions (ECS) for inclusive urban regeneration. It draws upon the vast pool of knowledge and practice of these re-conceptualised NBS, prospering to benefit of communities. More food consumed in the city is grown, produced and processed locally will foster social cohesion by encouraging ‘communities of practice’ and reduce the ecological footprint of cities. Planning for and implementing successfully proven ECS enhance overall urban resilience. EdiCitNet builds a constantly self-learning network of cities. The EdiCitNet consortium brings together city authorities, local NGOs, innovative SMEs and research partners from Europe, America, Africa and Asia, thereby laying the basis for a future global market place of ECS.

Supervised Theses and Dissertations

Neueste SCI Publikationen

Neueste Projekte

Forschungsprojekt aus §26 oder §27 Mitteln
Laufzeit : 2019-04-01 - 2022-03-31

In der Ackerbauregion Ostösterreich soll eine operationelle Gruppe (OG) bestehend aus Biobauern, Beratern, Wissenschaftlern, Interessensvertretern, sowie Partnern aus der Wirtschaft zum Thema wassersparender Bio-Ackerbau etabliert werden. Die Zielsetzung besteht darin, Strategien zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel im Ackerbau zu erproben. Diese Strategien beinhalten eine angepasste, konservierende Bodenbearbeitung (Direktsaat-Verfahren, Kulturen Mais, Sojabohne), die Verwendung betriebseigener Pflanzen als Transfermulch (zu den Kulturen Mais, Kartoffeln), der Vergleich von verschiedenen Düngungssystemen viehloser und viehhaltender biologischer Landwirtschaft im Langzeitversuch sowie der Prüfung verschiedener Bodenbearbeitungsverfahren (Grubber vs. Pflug) im Langzeitversuch. Flächendeckend eingesetzt leisten diese Strategien einen markanten Beitrag zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel und zur Entspannung der klimawandelbedingten Wasserknappheit. Neben acker- und pflanzenbaulichen Ergebnissen liefert diese Untersuchung auch Erkenntnisse über die arbeits- und betriebswirtschaftlichen Auswirkungen für den einzelnen Betrieb.
Forschungsprojekt aus §26 oder §27 Mitteln
Laufzeit : 2019-02-01 - 2021-01-31

Kaum eine andere Freiluftaktivität ist in Europa so weit verbreitet wie das Sammeln wild wachsender, essbarer Pflanzen. Essbare Wildpflanzen genießen auch bei KonsumentInnen einen guten Ruf, werden als innovative und trendige Produkte mit außergewöhnlichen Gesundheitseigenschaften und Geschmäckern vermarktet und von rund 100 Millionen EU-BürgerInnen konsumiert. Städte haben besonderes Potential in der Vermarktung, aber auch für das Sammeln essbarer Wildpflanzen. Andererseits gibt es Bedenken gegenüber der Nachhaltigkeit des Sammelns auf städtischen Grünflächen wobei sich aber noch kaum Forschungsarbeiten diesem Thema angenommen haben. Dieses Forschungsprojekt wirkt dem entgegen und fragt nach der ökologischen und sozio-politischen Nachhaltigkeit des Sammelns essbarer Wildpflanzen in Städten. Diese forschungsleitende Frage wird durch die Adaptierung eines konzeptuellen Rahmens für das nachhaltige Sammeln von Wildpflanzen, der bisher in ländlichen Gebieten des Globalen Südens Verwendung fand, untersucht. Dieses Projekt unterstützt somit die nachhaltige Beschaffung, Verarbeitung und den Konsum lokaler Ressourcen, wie vom Konzept der Bioökonomie gefordert, und trägt zum Erreichen der UN Nachhaltigkeitsziele 11 und 12 der Stadt Wien bei. Das Forschungsprojekt findet in Wien, Österreich, statt und ist als Studie mit gemischten Forschungsmethoden konzipiert. Zuerst werden 30 lokale ExpertInnen für das Sammeln essbarer Wildpflanzen mit einem semi-strukturierten Gesprächsleitfaden interviewt und danach mehrere hundert SammlerInnen auf Sammelplätzen in Stadt- und Stadtrandgebieten mit einem strukturierten Fragebogen befragt.
Forschungsprojekt aus §26 oder §27 Mitteln
Laufzeit : 2018-09-01 - 2023-08-31

EdiCitNet entwickelt “edible city solutions” für soziale Inklusion und fördert ihre Verbreitung in 13 Städten auf 4 Kontinenten. Das 5 jähre H2020 Projekt bringt verschiedenste Stakeholder aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Zivilgesellschaft und Stadtverwaltung zusammen um nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung zu ermöglichen. Innerhalb des EdiCitNet – Netzwerks werden neue „essbare Lösungen“ in living labs entwickelt und in Front Runner Cities getestet. Anschließend werden diese Lösungen in verschiedene, andere Städte übertragen.

Betreute Hochschulschriften