Main topics

Flood risk management

The implementation of the EU Flood Directive requires the preparation of flood hazard and flood risk maps as well as detailed flood management plans. This procedure needs to be renewed every 6-year, representing a challenge for many Austrian states. HyWa has been commissioned and cooperated with The Federal State of Upper Austria has developed appropriate procedures and methods, e.g. to be able to estimate the damage potential and its temporal development. To achieve this, methods from remote sensing and "machine learning" were combined to estimate buildings (areas) and the damage potential.

Brenner, C; Meisch, C; Apperl, B; Schulz, K. (2016): Towards periodic and time-referenced flood risk assessment using airborne remote sensing.

Brenner, C; Apperl, B; Schulz K (2015): Integration von Orthofotos in die Abschätzung des Hochwasserschadenspotenzials.

Contact:

Operational flood forecasting

In Austria, the devastating flood events of 2002, 2005 and 2013 caused damage of around € 4 billion and claimed more than a dozen lives. In addition, further damage was recorded in a number of smaller flood events. Flood prediction models can make a significant contribution to reducing damage and saving lives in the event of an incident. The COSERO rainfall runoff model developed at HyWa is operationally used by hydrographic services in Austria for the purpose of flood forecasting and is being continuously further developed.

Publications:

Contact:

Dr. Mathew Herrnegger

Ao. Prof. Dr. Hubert Holzmann

Runoff prediction for hydro power management

Austria receives almost 2/3 of its electricity from hydropower. Accurate forecasting of inflow volumes is a crucial element in energy planning, e.g. for the VERBUND AG. To this end, HyWa developed the rainfall-runoff model COSERO, which is a central component of the energy management planning system and is being continuously developed 

Publications:

Wesemann, J; Herrnegger, M; Schulz, K. (2018): Hydrological modelling in the anthroposphere: predicting local runoff in a heavily modified high-alpine catchment 

Wesemann, J; Schulz, K; Herrnegger, M. (2018): Ableitung natürlicher Abflüsse für die Kalibrierung eines Zuflussprognosemodells zur Speicherbewirtschaftung in einem hochalpinen Einzugsgebiet 

Contact:

Detecting leaks in drinking water and waste water pressure pipes

Currently, about 160 km of sewage pipelines are installed at the bottom of Austrian lakes. Their technical life span, however, has already been exceeded in some cases and extended leakage and the continuous discharge of wastewater into the lakes is to be expected in the future. HyWa has developed a new leak detection method in cooperation with the BOKU Institute of Sanitary Engineering and Water Pollution Control based on DTS technology and has successfully tested it in the laboratory.

Publications:

Apperl, B; Pressl, A; Schulz, K (2017): Feasibility of Locating Leakages in Sewage Pressure Pipes Using the Distributed Temperature Sensing Technology.

Apperl, B.; Bernhardt, M.; Schulz, K. (2015): Distributed temperature sensing (DTS) als Messverfahren in Landoberflächenhydrologie und Siedlungswasserwirtschaft 

Contact: 

Temperature monitoring in aquatic and agricultural ecosystems

Due to climate change, the air temperatures will continue to rise and rainfall events will become more variable. This means that the temperatures of surface waters and groundwater will also be affected. For agricultural cropping systems, these altered climatic boundary conditions can lead to an increase in plant stress with corresponding production losses. Using the DTS technique and drone-based thermal remote sensing, it is possible to capture the temporal-spatial dynamics within these systems.

Publications:

Brenner, C; Zeeman, M; Bernhardt, M; Schulz, K. (2018): Estimation of evapotranspiration of temperate grassland based on high-resolution thermal and visible range imagery from unmanned aerial systems. 

Brenner, C; Thiem, CE; Wizemann, HD; Bernhardt, M; Schulz, K. (2017): Estimating spatially distributed turbulent heat fluxes from high-resolution thermal imagery acquired with a UAV system.


Contact:

Impacts of climate and land use change on water quantity and water quality

Climate change and land use change are two of the most dominant drivers that impact the hydrology and the nutrient transport processes in catchments and in riverine ecosystems. In order to develop and evaluate sustainable management strategies and to implement corresponding best measures (e.g. within the  Water Framework Directive and the Nitrate Directive), models are used. One model is the Soil and Water Assessment Tool (SWAT) model for simulating discharge and nutrient transport from catchments under varying boundary conditions. Field adaptation measures to minimize nutrients losses under climate change conditions are also determined.

The model is applied to individual catchments in the Danube Region, as well as used in sustainable development projects in Kenya, Uganda and Nigeria.

 

Contact

Management of water ressources in skiing ressorts

Due to climate change, temperatures have increased disproportionately in the Alpine region. Likewise, the number of snow days has decreased and the snow line has increased significantly, with corresponding consequences for ski tourism. Increasing snowmaking of ski slopes, increasing tourism in the wellness area as well as altered runoff regimes of rivers require a long-term sustainable water management. HyWa develops concepts for the optimization of snow-making processes in cooperation with other leading institutes in the field of snow research (such as the SLF) as well as with companies such as a PistenBully and TechnoAlpin as part of the EU project PROSNOW.

Contact

The Austrian hydrological Atlas

The design and production of the Hydrological Atlas of Austria (HAA) was coordinated by HyWa researchers. The HAA offers a uniform and consistent representation of hydrologic information about Austria. This detailed knowledge is made accessible to a wide audience in an illustrative form. Its aim is to increase public awareness to the fact that water is a precious resource. The contents of the atlas and its presentation are useful for meeting the information demand expressed through the different areas of public interest e.g. research, education, economy and politics.

Literature:

BMLFUW (Hrsg) (2007) Hydrologischer Atlas Österreichs. 3. Lieferung. Bundesministerium für Land- und Forstwirtschaft, Umwelt und Wasserwirtschaft, Wien

Fürst J, Nachtnebel HP, Nobilis F (2005) Der Hydrologische Atlas Österreichs: Von der Idee zum Produkt. Österreichische Wasser- und Abfallwirtschaft 57 (5/6):79-87

Fürst J, Godina R, Nachtnebel HP, Nobilis F (2009) The Hydrological Atlas of Austria – comprehensive transfer of hydrological knowledge and data to engineers, water resources managers and the public. In: Liebscher HJ, Clarke R, Rodda J et al. (Hrsg) The Role of Hydrology in Water Resources Management, Island of Capri, Italy, 2009. IAHS, S 36-44

Contact:

 Ao. Prof. DI Dr. Josef Fürst

Communication of uncertainties

Many forecasts in the field of water management are subject to major uncertainties. Nevertheless, decisions and measures based on these uncertainties have to be taken. Theefore, uncertainties have to be communicated to stakeholders in an understandable way. HyWa developes appropriate procedures and visualization capabilities that support this process.

Contact

 

Estimation of extreme groundwater levels

The Hydrographic Services receive hundreds of inquiries every year regarding the highest groundwater level in connection with construction projects, as well as the granting of gravel removal (wet or dry dredging). We evaluated extreme value statistical methods for the estimation of relevant groundwater levels in pore aquifers and provided these methods for operational implementation to the hydrographic services in federal and state governments. The procedure was also included in the guidelines for gravel extraction.

Literature:

Fürst, J., Bichler, A., Konecny, F., 2015. Regional Frequency Analysis of Extreme Groundwater Levels. Groundwater, 53(3): 414-423. DOI:10.1111/gwat.12223

Fürst J, Bichler A, Konecny F (2011) Ermittlung extremer Grundwasserstände. Mitteilungsblatt des Hydrographischen Dienstes in Österreich (87):1-44

Contact:

Ao. Prof. DI Dr. Josef Fürst

Stakeholder and Partners

Unsere Schwerpunkte

Hochwasserrisikomanagement

Die Umsetzung der EU Hochwasserrichtlinie mit der Erstellung von HW-Gefahrenkarten und HW-Risikokarten, sowie HW-Managementplänen, die in einem 6-jährigen Zyklus erneuert werden müssen, stellt für viele österreichische Bundesländer eine Herausforderung dar. Das HyWa hat im Auftrag und Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bundesland Oberösterreich entsprechende Verfahren und Methoden entwickelt um z.B. das Schadenspotential und dessen zeitliche Entwicklung abschätzen zu können. Hierbei wurden u.a. Methoden aus der Fernerkundung und des „Machine Learnings“ kombiniert um Gebäude(-flächen) und das Schadenspotentials abschätzen zu können.

Ausgewählte Publikationen:

Brenner, C; Meisch, C; Apperl, B; Schulz, K. (2016): Towards periodic and time-referenced flood risk assessment using airborne remote sensing.

Brenner, C; Apperl, B; Schulz K (2015): Integration von Orthofotos in die Abschätzung des Hochwasserschadenspotenzials.

Kontakt:

Operationelle Hochwasserprognosemodelle

In Österreich haben die verherrenden Hochwasserereignisse von 2002, 2005 und 2013 einen Schaden von rund 4 Mrd. € verursacht und über ein Dutzend Menschenleben gefordert. Zusätzlich waren weitere Schäden bei etlichen kleineren Hochwasserereignissen zu verzeichnen. Hochwasserprognosemodelle können wesentlich zur Reduktion von Schäden und dem Retten von Menschenleben im Ereignisfall beitragen. Das am HyWa entwickelte Niederschlags-Abfluss-Modell COSERO wird bei Hydrographischen Diensten in Österreich operationell zur Hochwasservorhersage eingesetzt und wird kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt.

Veröffentlichungen:

Kontakt:

Dr. Mathew Herrnegger

Ao. Prof. Dr. Hubert Holzmann

Zuflussprognose für die Energiewasserwirtschaft

Österreich bezieht fast 2/3 seiner Elektrizität aus der Wasserkraft. Die präzise Vorhersage der Zuflussmengen ist ein entscheidendes Element in der energiewirtschaftlichen Planung z.B. bei der VERBUND AG. Dort ist das vom HyWa entwickelte Niederschlags-Abfluss-Modell COSERO zentraler Bestandteil des energiewirtschaftlichen Planungssystems und wird kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt.

Ausgewählte Publikationen in diesem Bereich:

Wesemann, J; Herrnegger, M; Schulz, K. (2018): Hydrological modelling in the anthroposphere: predicting local runoff in a heavily modified high-alpine catchment 

Wesemann, J; Schulz, K; Herrnegger, M. (2018): Ableitung natürlicher Abflüsse für die Kalibrierung eines Zuflussprognosemodells zur Speicherbewirtschaftung in einem hochalpinen Einzugsgebiet 

Kontakt:

Leckagen in Trinkwasser- und Abwasserleitungen

Derzeit sind ca. 160km Abwasserrohrleitungen auf dem Grund österreichischer Seen installiert. Deren technische Lebenserwartungen sind jedoch bereits zum Teil bereits überschritten und es muss zukünftig mit Leckagen und dem kontinuierlichen Eintrag von Abwasser in die Seen gerechnet werden. Das HyWa hat in Zusammenarbeit mit dem BOKU Institut für Siedlungswasserbau, Industriewasserwirtschaft und Gewässerschutz und basierend auf der DTS-Technologie (àlink zum DTS) ein neues Verfahren zur Detektion von Leckagen entwickelt und im Labor erfolgreich getestet.

Ausgewählte Publikationen:

Apperl, B; Pressl, A; Schulz, K (2017): Feasibility of Locating Leakages in Sewage Pressure Pipes Using the Distributed Temperature Sensing Technology.

Apperl, B.; Bernhardt, M.; Schulz, K. (2015): Distributed temperature sensing (DTS) als Messverfahren in Landoberflächenhydrologie und Siedlungswasserwirtschaft 

Kontakt: 

Temperatur-Monitoring in aquatischen und agrarischen Ökosystemen

Im Zuge des Klimawandels werden die Lufttemperaturen zukünftig weiter ansteigen und sich die Niederschlagsregime ändern. Das heißt auch die Temperaturen der Oberflächengewässer und des Grundwassers werden ebenfalls ansteigen. Für Agrarsysteme können diese veränderten klimatischen Randbedingungen zu einer Erhöhung des Pflanzenstresses mit entsprechenden Produktionsverlusten führen. Mit Hilfe der DTS – Technik (à link DTS) und Drohnen-basierter Thermalfernerkundung (à link Drohne) ist es möglich die zeitlich-räumliche Dynamik innerhalb dieser Ökosysteme zu erfassen.    

Ausgewählte Publikationen:

Brenner, C; Zeeman, M; Bernhardt, M; Schulz, K. (2018): Estimation of evapotranspiration of temperate grassland based on high-resolution thermal and visible range imagery from unmanned aerial systems. 

Brenner, C; Thiem, CE; Wizemann, HD; Bernhardt, M; Schulz, K. (2017): Estimating spatially distributed turbulent heat fluxes from high-resolution thermal imagery acquired with a UAV system.

Kontakt:

Auswirkungen von Klimawandel und Landnutzungsänderungen auf Wassermengen und -qualität

Klimawandel und Landnutzungsänderung sind zwei der wichtigsten Faktoren, die den Wasser- und Nährstoffkreislauf in Einzugsgebieten und Flussökosystemen beeinflussen. Für die Entwicklung und Bewertung nachhaltiger Bewirtschaftungsstrategien und -maßnahmen im Rahmen der EU-Wasserrahmenrichtlinie wendet HyWa öko-hydrologische Modelle, unter anderem das Soil Water Assessment Tool (SWAT) an, um den Wassertransport und die Nährstoffbelastung unter verschiedenen Randbedingungen vorherzusagen. SWAT wird nicht nur im Donauraum, sondern auch bei Projekten zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung in Kenia, Uganda und Nigeria auf Ebene einzelnen Einzugsgebiete angewendet.

 

Kontakt: 

Management von Wasserressourcen im Skitourimus

Aufgrund des Klimawandels haben die Temperaturen speziell im Alpinen Raum überproportional zugenommen. Gleichsam hat sich die Anzahl der Schneetage verringert und die Schneefallgrenze hat sich deutlich erhöht, mit entsprechenden Folgen für den Skitourismus. Zunehmende Beschneiung von Skipisten, ein zunehmender Tourismus im Wellness-Bereich sowie veränderte Abflussregime der Fließgewässer machen ein langfristig nachhaltiges Wassermanagment dringend erforderlich. Das HyWa entwickelt im Rahmen des EU-Projekts PROSNOW in Kooperation mit anderen führenden Instituten im Bereich Schneeforschung (wie dem SLF) und mit Unternehmen wie eine PistenBully und TechnoAlpin Konzepte zur Optimierung von Beschneiungsabläufen.

Kontakt: 

Der Hydrologische Atlas Österreichs

Der Hydrologische Atlas Österreichs (HAÖ) bietet eine einheitliche und konsistente Darstellung der Hydrologie Österreichs als duales Kartenwerk – eine hochwertige gedruckte Ausgabe gemeinsam mit einer digitalen, GIS basierten Version. Er ist ein gemeinsames Werk der „Hydrologinnen und Hydrologen Österreichs“, das vom BMLFUW (nunmehr BMNT) herausgegeben wurde und dessen Erstellung von Mitarbeitern des HyWa geleitet und koordiniert wurde. Die Inhalte und die Präsentationsform decken weite Bereiche des Informationsbedarfes ab, der alle gesellschaftlichen Bereiche wie Forschung, Ausbildung, Wirtschaft und Politik erfasst. Damit soll auch das Bewusstsein, dass Wasser eine wertvolle Ressource ist, gefördert werden.

Literatur:

BMLFUW (Hrsg) (2007) Hydrologischer Atlas Österreichs. 3. Lieferung. Bundesministerium für Land- und Forstwirtschaft, Umwelt und Wasserwirtschaft, Wien

Fürst J, Nachtnebel HP, Nobilis F (2005) Der Hydrologische Atlas Österreichs: Von der Idee zum Produkt. Österreichische Wasser- und Abfallwirtschaft 57 (5/6):79-87

Fürst J, Godina R, Nachtnebel HP, Nobilis F (2009) The Hydrological Atlas of Austria – comprehensive transfer of hydrological knowledge and data to engineers, water resources managers and the public. In: Liebscher HJ, Clarke R, Rodda J et al. (Hrsg) The Role of Hydrology in Water Resources Management, Island of Capri, Italy, 2009. IAHS, S 36-44

Kontakt:

 Ao. Prof. DI Dr. Josef Fürst

Kommunikation von Unsicherheiten

Viele Prognosen im Bereich der Wasserwirtschaft sind mit zum Teil großen Unsicherheiten behaftet. Dennoch müssen auf deren Basis Entscheidungen getroffen oder über Maßnahmen entschieden werden. Diese Unsicherheiten müssen daher in einer Art und Weise kommuniziert werden, so dass sie auch für Stakeholder verständlich sind. Hierzu werden am HyWa entsprechenden Verfahren und Visualisierungsmöglichkeiten helfen, die diesen Prozess unterstützen.

Kontakt: 

 

Abschätzung extremer Grundwasserspiegel

An die Hydrographischen Dienste kommen jedes Jahr hunderte Anfragen betreffend die Angabe des höchsten Grundwasserstandes im Zusammenhang mit Bauvorhaben, aber auch im Zuge der Bewilligung von Kiesentnahmen (Nass- oder Trockenbaggerung). Wir evaluierten extremwertstatistische Methoden zur Abschätzung von relevanten Grundwasserhochständen in den Porengrundwasserleitern und stellten diese Verfahren zur operationellen Umsetzung den Hydrographischen Diensten in Bund und Ländern zur Verfügung. Die Vorgangsweise fand auch Eingang in die Richtlinien zur Kiesgewinnung.

Literatur:

Fürst, J., Bichler, A., Konecny, F., 2015. Regional Frequency Analysis of Extreme Groundwater Levels. Groundwater, 53(3): 414-423. DOI:10.1111/gwat.12223

Fürst J, Bichler A, Konecny F (2011) Ermittlung extremer Grundwasserstände. Mitteilungsblatt des Hydrographischen Dienstes in Österreich (87):1-44

Kontakt:

Ao. Prof. DI Dr. Josef Fürst

Auftraggeber und Partner