Fungal Genetics and Pathogens

In the world of microbes, fungi take a special place from both an ecological and biotechnological point of view. On the one hand filamentous fungi and yeasts are mainly responsible for the maintenance of the global nutrient cycles (especially carbon recycling), but on the other hand, they are also the most important pathogens for plants.

The PIs of this Research Focus investigate the molecular mechanisms by which molds and yeasts regulate their nutritional demands, how they sense and interact with the environment, produce mycotoxins or overcome host defense systems during infection of plants and animals. Projects of these groups contribute to the BOKU Scientific Initiative "Bioresources and Technology" established at the Campus in Tulln and  PIs extensively collaborate with other researchers there on topics such as fungal virulence, epigenetic regulation and adaptation, plant –pathogen interactions, resistance, mycotoxins and biotechnology.

The findings from this research provide important basic insights into fungal molecular biology and ecology and lay the foundations for collaborative projects with industry to formulate strategies that allow a more efficient control of fungal infections in agriculture or the development of new biotechnological products from fungi.

We coordinate the Special Research Program (SFB) of the FWF-Austrian Research Fund called “Fusarium metabolites and detoxification reactions” and also operate a "Core Facility" (BiMM) open for internal and external research groups to perform high-throughput automated screening programs and genetic and biochemical analyses. 

Research groups and principal investigators:


Go to ...

 BACK TO MAIN PAGE

Fungal Genetics and Pathogens

In der Welt der Mikroben nehmen Pilze sowohl aus ökologischer als auch aus biotechnologischer Sicht einen besonderen Platz ein. Zum einen sind filamentöse Pilze und Hefen hauptsächlich für die Aufrechterhaltung der globalen Nährstoffkreisläufe (insbesondere Kohlenstoffrecycling) verantwortlich, zum anderen sind sie aber auch die wichtigsten Krankheitserreger für Pflanzen.

Wir untersuchen die molekularen Mechanismen, mit denen Schimmelpilze und Hefen ihren Nährstoffbedarf regulieren, wie sie die Umwelt wahrnehmen und mit ihr interagieren, Mykotoxine produzieren oder Abwehrmechanismen des Wirts während der Infektion von Pflanzen und Tieren überwinden. Projekte dieser Gruppen tragen zu der auf dem Campus in Tulln etablierten BOKU-Wissenschaftsinitiative "Bioressourcen und Technologien" bei und kooperieren dort mit anderen Forschern intensiv zu Themen wie Virulenz von Pilzen, epigenetischer Regulation und Adaptation, Pflanzen-Pathogen-Interaktionen, Resistenz, Mykotoxinen und Biotechnologie.

Die Ergebnisse dieser Forschung liefern wichtige Grundlagen für die molekularbiologische und ökologische Pilzforschung und legen den Grundstein für gemeinsame Projekte mit der Industrie zur Formulierung von Strategien, die eine effizientere Bekämpfung von Pilzinfektionen in der Landwirtschaft oder die Entwicklung neuer biotechnologischer Produkte aus Pilzen ermöglichen.

Wir koordinieren das Sonderforschungsfeld (SFB) des FWF-Österreichischer Forschungsfonds mit dem Namen "Fusarium Metaboliten und Entgiftungsreaktionen" und betreiben eine "Core Facility" (BiMM) für interne und externe Forschungsgruppen, die automatisierte Screening-Programme mit hohem Durchsatz sowie genetische und biochemische Analysen durchführen.

Forschungsgruppen und wissenschaftliche ProjektleiterInnen:

Christoph Schüller
» Pilz-Umweltgenetik


Weiter zu

 ZURÜCK ZUR STARTSEITE