tandem

What is it about?
Tandem learning is a reciprocal language learning project where you are paired with a native speaker of your target language, so that you can learn together. This means that students with different native languages teach each other. There is no financial cost involved and you can benefit regardless of your language level. You can meet up to study together, practice speaking, find out more about your partner's culture, discuss language problems and support each other's learning. Tools like mobile phones, emailing, and Skype can also support tandem learning.

How does it work?
The imagination knows no limits when it comes to tandem learning: tandem partners can work through textbooks and exercise books, work through things from everyday life (e.g. newspaper articles, product information, radio broadcasts), practice structured dialogues on certain themes or simply have a conversation with each other. Choosing the exercise method depends on your prior knowledge and the learning objectives of the tandem learning partners.

What are the benefits of Tandem Learning?
Students, teachers and researchers who are planning a semester abroad can make contact with someone in their future host country before their stay has begun. This helps them to improve their language skills and gain an insight into the culture, mentality and social environment of the country. Tandem learning is also a convenient way to keep up your previously-acquired language skills and to make contact with native speakers.

How to apply?
You have to register online on our e-learning platform BOKUlearn. Follow the link and login with your valid BOKUonline account. Scroll down the page where you can find the search field, type the course name "Tandem Learning" and click on registration for the course of this semester. There you will find further information about how to use the e-learning platform.
Registration period for the summer semester 2019: 20.02. - 10.03.2019
 
Next steps?
A list containing all Tandem participants and their target languages will be published on BOKUlearn. You have to check the list and pick a Tandem partner on your own. You can contact your partner via telephone or email. In the middle of October there will be a kick-off meeting with some hints for tandem leaning and the opportunity to meet the other participants.
Kick-off meeting: Monday, 18th March at 17:30, EH05 (Exnerhaus, Peter Jordanstr. 82, 1190 Vienna).

Further information: tandem(at)boku.ac.at

University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna
Center for International Relations (ZIB)
Peter-Jordan-Str. 82A
1190 Vienna

tandem

Was ist Tandem-Lernen?
Tandem-Lernen bedeutet, dass sich zwei Personen unterschiedlicher Muttersprache gegenseitig die jeweils fremde Sprache beibringen. Für Konversationsstunden bieten sich auch kleine Gruppen an. Tandem-Lernen kann in Form von persönlichen Treffen erfolgen, aber auch per e-mail oder Telefon/Skype. Jeweils die Hälfte der Zeit wird der einen Sprache gewidmet, die andere Hälfte der anderen. Der persönliche Einsatz beruht auf Gegenseitigkeit. Es wird kein Geld verlangt.


Wie funktioniert es?
In der konkreten Gestaltung des Tandem-Lernens sind der Phantasie keine Grenzen gesetzt: Die Tandem-PartnerInnen können Lehr- und Übungsbücher durcharbeiten,  Vorlagen aus der Praxis verwenden (z.B. Zeitungsartikel, Produktinformationen, Radiosendungen), strukturierte Dialoge zu gewissen Themen einüben oder einfach frei miteinander "plaudern". Die Wahl der Übungsmethode hängt von den Vorkenntnissen und dem Lernziel der Tandem-Partner*innen ab. 

Was bringt Tandem-Lernen?
Studierende, Lehrende und Forschende, die ein Auslandssemester planen, können durch ihre/n Tandem-Partner*in schon vor ihrem Aufenthalt Kontakte ins zukünftige Gastland knüpfen, ihre Sprachkenntnisse verbessern und so einen guten Einblick in die Kultur, Mentalität und das soziale Umfeld des Landes bekommen. Tandem-Lernen ist auch eine günstige Art, bereits erworbene Sprachkenntnisse zu pflegen und Kontakte zu Muttersprachler*innen auszubauen.


Wie melde ich mich an?
Die Anmeldung findet online auf der E-learning Plattform BOKUlearn statt. Dort meldet ihr euch mit euren BOKU login Daten an, scrollt die Seite ganz nach unten und gebt im Suchfeld den Kursnamen "Tandem Learning" ein. Nach der Registrierung findet ihr weitere Infos.

Anmeldung fürs Wintersemester 2020/21: 24.09.2020-13.10.2020

Weitere Schritte?
Die Liste mit allen Teilnehmer*innen wird in BOKUlearn veröffentlicht. Ihr sucht euch eure*n Tandempartner*in selber aus und kontaktiert euch per Telefon oder Email. Zusätzlich wird in den ersten Semesterwochen ein Kick-Off Meeting veranstaltet, bei dem es Tipps fürs Tandem-Lernen und die Möglichkeit, andere TeilnehmerInnen zu treffen,  geben wird.

Kickoff-Meeting für das Wintersemester 2020/21:
21.10.2020, 17.30-19.00
Online:
https://bokuvienna.zoom.us/j/92505250456

 

Für weitere Informationen und Fragen kontaktiert bitte
tandem(at)boku.ac.at

Universität für Bodenkultur
BOKU-International Relations (BOKU-IR)
Peter-Jordan-Straße 82A
1190 Wien