Latest SCI publications

Latest Projects

Research project (§ 26 & § 27)
Duration : 2019-01-01 - 2021-12-31

Carbon nano tubes (CNTs) are cylindrical nano structures made of carbon atoms. Due to their outstanding mechanical and electrical properties, and thermal conductivity, they are already used as additives in various novel materials. Recently, CNTs have also been considered for several medical applications due to their small diameters and ability to penetrate cells and tissues. However, since CNTs are chemically inert and insoluble in water, they have to be chemically functionalized or coated with biomolecules to carry payloads or interact with the environment. Proteins bound to the surface of CNTs are preferred because they provide a better biocompatibility and offer functional groups for binding additional molecules. Nevertheless, their arrangement and density on the CNT surface and, consequently the availability of functional groups, varies considerably. An alternative approach to functionalize CNTs with an - additionally closed and precisely ordered - protein layer is offered by bacterial surface layer (S-layers) proteins which have already attracted much attention in the functionalization of surfaces as well as supporting structures for biomembranes. In a broad range of bacteria and archaea S-layer proteins cover the cells completely and may be considered as one of the most abundant biopolymers on earth. S-layer protein lattices show parameters in the nanometer range and offer surface chemical groups and genetically introduced biologically functional domains in precisely defined locations and orientation on their surfaces. Moreover, and highly relevant for this project too, is the natural capability of isolated S-layer proteins to self-assemble into monolayers in solution and at interfaces (e.g. on solid supports). The overall project aim is to conduct fundamental studies on the reassembly of S-layer proteins on CNTs and learn from nature how these new hybrid architectures may be used to make novel materials e.g. for biosensing. Key are the reassembly and binding properties of S-layer proteins which allow a highly specific and sensitive functionalization of the CNT surface. Moreover, novel hybrid organic-inorganic nano structures (e.g. nano containers for drug delivery) will become possible by using the S-layer coating as template in the biomineralization of silica, metals or other technologically important materials. Further on, it may also be assumed that the pores in the S-layer lattice will induce an ordered arrangement of metallic nanoparticles directly on the CNT surface and thus might lead to new electronic effects along the “one-dimensional” CNTs. Based on these few examples of an S-layer protein and CNTs construction kit, we would like to stress that our research, although longer term in nature, might lead to a new technology for the functionalization of carbon nanotube surfaces.
Research project (§ 26 & § 27)
Duration : 2017-08-01 - 2020-07-31

Due to global warming an increase of average temperatures is expected, which will affect tree populations in Austrian forests. More drought resistant species such as oak and pine will adapt, which are known to accumulate higher contents of extractives in their inner “heartwood”. Some of these extractive components are known to enhance the trees natural durability by protecting against microbial attacks. Apart of the fact that heartwood is essential for a long-living tree, these more durable heartwoods are desired for construction applications and might give access to valuable add-on products in a biorefinery process. On the other hand in the paper and timber industry the presence of extractives is not always welcome as technical processes may be hindered and have to be adapted. Heartwood formation has been studied since a long time. High variabilities among species, within single trees and under different environmental conditions have shown the complexity of this natural drying and impregnation process. Up to know, the chemical characterization has been mainly achieved by using different wet-chemical and chromatographic analysis. The context and relation to the wood microstructure is lost and often not all components are solved as changes in composition might need other treatment conditions and interactions with other cell wall polymers might occur. Still a knowledge gap exists on the distribution of these extractives on the micro- and nano scale and their interaction with other wood components. Are they mainly accumulated in the place of biosynthesis in the ray parenchyma cells or also transported to and impregnated in the fiber, tracheid and vessel cell walls? Is it a fast process or an ongoing slow polymerization process with changes in time and age? With this project these knowledge gaps will be filled by investigating native never dried heartwood samples by state of the art microspectroscopic in-situ approaches. Fluorescence microscopy will give an overview of the distribution of the phenolic compounds and Raman microscopy deliver a more detailed picture on the chemical composition in context with the microstructure as well as TOF-SIMS microscopy. Co-located ESEM will elucidate the ultrastructure of the changing cell walls during heartwood formation. With these approaches the we will 1) monitor heartwood formation of pine, douglas fir and oak trees by following the extractives from biosynthesis to the cell wall impregnation, 2) Assess the interactions of the extractives with other cell wall components and 3) determine the role of drying during the formation of heartwood and for a kind of “self-sealing” effect observed in some preliminary experiments. The results will reveal new insights into the biology of heartwood due to the detailed in-situ studies on the extractive distribution in context with the micro-and nanostructure as well as changes, solubilities and interactions. Furthermore in comparison to the natural dry falling of the tracheids the effects induced by artificial drying and thus important characteristics of wood as an industrial raw material will be derived. This will break new scientific grounds in the field of plant physiology (tree ageing), biomimetic plant protection mechanisms (decay resistance, “self-sealing”), but also regarding optimization of industrial applications and processes and the valorisation of add-on products in new biorefinery concepts.
Research project (§ 26 & § 27)
Duration : 2017-01-01 - 2021-12-31

Bacterial surface layer proteins (S-layers) have the ability to build protein crystal layers with nanometer regularity on solution and many different substrates. They are currently being tested as nano-templates for different biotechnological applications. However, the (path)way in which such proteins self-assemble forming organized nanostructures is not fully understood. In this context, we propose to investigate the recrystallization of three S-layer proteins, wild type SbpA and the recombinant proteins rSbpA31–1068 and rSbpA31-918, on (molecularly controlled) hydrophobic and hydrophilic disulfides. First, we will study the adsorption kinetics and recrystallization of the three bacterial proteins. Second, we would like to find the relation between the kinetics and the physical properties of the formed protein crystal (e.g. crystal domain size, lattice parameters). Third, we would like to clarify the question of the recrystallization pathway as a function of the properties of the substrate for these bacterial proteins (which also imply to get insight about protein/substrate interactions, especially about the recognition by the protein of hydrophobic and/or hydrophilic moieties).

Supervised Theses and Dissertations

Neueste SCI Publikationen

Neueste Projekte

Forschungsprojekt aus §26 oder §27 Mitteln
Laufzeit : 2019-01-01 - 2021-12-31

Kohlenstoffröhren (engl. carbon nanotubes (CNTs)) sind zylinderförmige Nanostrukturen, die rein aus Kohlenstoffatomen aufgebaut sind. Auf Grund ihrer herausragenden mechanischen und elektrischen Eigenschaften, sowie thermischen Leitfähigkeit, werden CNTs bereits als Zusätze in neuen Werkstoffen eingesetzt. CNTs wurden in letzter Zeit aber auch für Anwendungen in der Medizin näher betrachtet, da sie auf Grund ihres geringen Durchmessers Zellen und Gewebe durchdringen können. Nachdem CNTs chemisch inert sind und sich z.B. in Wasser nicht lösen, muss ihre Oberfläche chemisch oder durch Binden von Biomolekülen angepasst werden, um so mit weiteren Molekülen beladen zu werden oder mit ihrer Umgebung in Wechselwirkung treten zu können. Dazu werden bevorzugt Proteine verwendet, da diese meistens gut biokompatibel sind und funktionelle Gruppen zum weiteren Binden anbieten. Aber, die Proteine - und somit deren funktionelle Gruppen - sind auf der CNT-Oberfläche meist nur unregelmäßig und auch nicht dicht gebunden. Eine Alternative zur Funktionalisierung von CNTs mit – zudem geschlossenen und hoch geordneten - Proteinschichten bieten S-Schichtproteine (engl. surface layer - Oberflächenschicht), die bereits seit langem zum Modifizieren von Oberflächen in der Nanobiotechnologie eingesetzt werden. S-Schichtproteine umschließen bei vielen Bakterienstämmen und bei allen Archaeen die Zellen vollständig und können als eine der häufigsten Biopolymere der Erde angesehen werden. S-Schichten zeigen Gitterparameter im Nanometerbereich, wobei sich auf Grund ihrer Struktur chemisch funktionelle Gruppen und genetisch eingebrachte funktionelle Domänen an streng definierten Positionen und in gleicher Orientierung wiederholen. Eine wesentliche Eigenschaft von S-Schichtproteinen liegt aber in ihrer Fähigkeit, von selbst wieder zweidimensionale Gitter in Lösung und an Grenzflächen, wie z.B. an festen Trägern, auszubilden. Das Projektziel liegt in der Erforschung der Rekristallisation von S-Schichtproteinen auf Kohlenstoffröhren und in der Anwendung der Erkenntnisse zur Herstellung neuartiger Materialien, wie z.B. für die Biosensorik. Der Schlüssel dazu liegt in den Eigenschaften der S-Schichtproteine selbst, die eine hochspezifische Funktionalisierung der CNT Oberfläche erlauben. Im weiteren sollen neuartige Hybridstrukturen, wie z.B. Container zum Transport von Wirkstoffen, auf der Grundlage der Biomineralisation an S-Schichten entwickelt werden. Weiters sollen metallische Nanopartikel in den Poren der S-Schicht, also direkt auf dem Kohlenstoffgitter, abgelagert und somit die elektronischen Eigenschaften der „ein-dimensionalen“ Kohlenstoffröhren direkt beeinflusst werden. Diese Beispiele eines Bausatzes aus S-Schicht und Kohlenstoffröhren zeigen, dass dieses Projektes zu einer neuen Technologie zur biologischen Funktionalisierung von Kohlenstoffröhren führen kann.
Forschungsprojekt aus §26 oder §27 Mitteln
Laufzeit : 2017-08-01 - 2020-07-31

Aufgrund der globalen Erwärmung wird eine Erhöhung der Durchschnittstemperaturen erwartet, demzufolge werden sich mehr Dürre-resistente Arten wie Eiche und Kiefer in den österreichischen Wäldern durchsetzen. Da diese in der Lage sind Extraktstoffe während der sogenannten „Kernholzbildung“ in die Mikrostruktur der einzelnen Zellen einzubauen, weisen diese Bäume eine erhöhte natürliche Dauerhaftigkeit auf. Abgesehen davon, dass diese Extrakte den Baum ein langes Leben ermöglichen, sind sie für Konstruktionsholz im Außenbereich essentiell um das Holz vor mikrobiellen Abbau zu schützen. In Zukunft werden diese Extrakte auch eine große Rolle für die Bioraffinerie spielen um neue Produkte für Medizin und Kosmetik zu erschließen. Die Kehrseite der Medaille ist aber, dass Extrakte in der Papier und Holzindustrie nicht immer erwünscht sind, da technische Prozesse wie Aufschluss oder Verleimung gestört werden. Wissenschaftler erforschen seit langem die Verkernung der Bäume und zeigen auf, dass sie eine hohe Variabilität aufweist, sie ist artspezifisch, standortabhängig und durch Umweltbedingungen beeinflusst. Bei manchen Holzarten kann man diesen Prozess mit einem Trocknungs- und Imprägnierungsprozess vergleichen. Bei der Untersuchung der Kernzholzbildung wurden oft unterschiedliche nasschemische und chromatographische Methoden verwendet, wobei die natürliche Holzmikrostruktur verloren geht und auch die Verknüpfung einzelner Komponenten. Deshalb ist die Wechselwirkung der einzelnen Zellwandkomponenten mit den Extrakten auf der Mirko- und Nanoebene nicht restlos geklärt. Eine Wissenslücke besteht besonders bei der Biosynthese der Extrakte sowie deren Transport zu den einzelnen Zellen, offene Fragen sind z.B.: ob die radialen Holzstrahlen die Hauptrolle übernehmen oder es ein komplexes Zusammenspiel unterschiedlicher Komponenten und Prozesse auf Mirkoebene ist? Ist es ein schneller oder langsamer Polymerisationsprozess, von der Jahreszeit, Umweltbedingungen und dem Alter abhängig? Mit diesem Projekt sollen diese Wissenslücken mittels Untersuchung von nativen, nie getrockneten Kernholzproben durch moderne bildgebende und spektroskopische Analysemethoden gefüllt werden. Dabei soll die Fluoreszenzmikroskopie einen Überblick über die Verteilung der Extrakte geben. Darüber hinaus wird mittels Raman-Mikroskopie und TOF-SIMS ein detaillierteres Bild über die chemische Zusammensetzung in Kontext mit der Mikrostruktur gegeben. Co-lokalisiertes ESEM wird die Ultrastruktur der wechselnden Zellwände bei der Kernholzbildung aufklären. Mit diesen Ansätzen werden wir die Kernholzbildung von Kiefern-, Douglasie- und Eichenbäumen untersuchen, indem wir 1) den Extrakten von der Biosynthese bis zur Zellwandimprägnierung folgen, 2) die Wechselwirkungen der Extrakte mit anderen Zellwandkomponenten studieren und 3) die Rolle der natürlichen sowie künstlichen Trocknung bestimmen, da sich bei Vorversuchen mit der Trocknung von natürlichen Proben eine Art „self-sealing“ von Mikrorissen und Tüpfel gezeigt hat. Diese in-situ Studien werden die Verteilung der Extrakte im Zusammenhang mit der Mikro- und Nanostruktur, sowie Veränderungen, Löslichkeit und Wechselwirkungen entschlüsseln und neue Einblicke in die Biologie der Kernholzbildung geben. Geplante Trocknungversuche werden neue wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse auf dem Gebiet der Pflanzenphysiologie aber auch hinsichtlich der Optimierung von industriellen Anwendungen und Prozessen geben.
Forschungsprojekt aus §26 oder §27 Mitteln
Laufzeit : 2017-01-01 - 2021-12-31

Bakterielle Oberflächenproteine (S-Schicht) haben die Fähigkeit Protein-Kristallschichten mit Regelmäßigkeit im Nanometerbereich auf Luft/Wasser Grenzflächen und auf vielen verschiedenen Substraten zu bilden. Diese werden momentan als „Nano-Templates“ für unterschiedliche biotechnologische Anwendungen getestet. Die Art und Weise wie diese Proteine selbst assemblieren und dabei geordnete Nanostrukturen formen, ist jedoch noch nicht vollständig geklärt. In diesem Zusammenhang beabsichtigen wir die Rekristallisation von drei S-Schicht Proteinen, Wildtyp SbpA und die rekombinanten Proteine rSbpA31-1068 und rSbpA31-918 auf (molekular kontrollierten) hydrophoben und hydrophilen Disulfiden zu erforschen. Zunächst werden wir die Adsorptionskinetik und die Rekristallisation dieser drei bakteriellen Proteine untersuchen. Zweitens wollen wir den Zusammenhang zwischen der Kinetik und den physikalischen Eigenschaften der gebildeten Proteinkristalle (z.B. Kristallgröße, Gitterparameter) herausfinden. Zuletzt möchten wir die Frage der Rekristallisationswege in Abhängigkeit von den Substrat-Eigenschaften für diese bakteriellen Proteine klären (was uns auch Verständnis über Protein/Substrat Interaktionen liefert, vor allem über die Wiedererkennung der Proteine von hydrophoben und/oder hydrophilen Teilen.

Betreute Hochschulschriften