Latest SCI publications

Latest Projects

Research project (§ 26 & § 27)
Duration : 2019-10-01 - 2021-11-30

The research project "Mentoring for Women in Forestry" investigates how women can be strengthened in the Austrian forestry sector and applies a mentoring programme in the form of a pilot mentoring round. The aim of the mentoring programme is to encourage women establish themselves in the traditionally male-dominated forestry and timber sector and to motivate them to actively enrich this sector after their training and education. The mentoring programme aims to teach the informal and implicit rules of the industry, introduce them to existing networks and give practical tips on how to achieve professional goals. Therefore, the Federal Ministry for Sustainability and Tourism (BMNT) is initiating an exclusive women's mentoring round with high-ranking representatives and experts of the industry to show 15 women new perspectives within the chosen area of interest. The project is a collaboration between the Institute for Landscape Planning (BOKU, Vienna) and the Federal Research Centre for Forests (BFW).
Research project (§ 26 & § 27)
Duration : 2018-07-02 - 2021-01-01

Construction costs and maintenance costs as the most important inhibiting factors for the large-scale greening of city neighborhoods. These could be significantly reduced by local self-supply. In this context, based on Seestadt Aspern, we determine the contribution of urban food production to a climate-neutral, resilient district and / or how this contribution can be sustainably stabilized or optimized. We evaluate locally practiced forms of urban self-supply and supplement them with international best practice examples, expert assessments and by involving local actors. From this, further system modules are developed, which are then projected onto local potentials. The project correlates spatial and technical potentials for greening measures and urban food production with social capital, in order to show what requirements and incentives "operators" of an edible district need. We show how Aspern Seestadt and other neighborhoods can be transformed into a sustainable district in a cost-efficient and resource-efficient manner by synergizing existing infrastructure, climate-friendly urban development, local resilience, citizen involvement and education, networking and local supply as well as long-term economic efficiency interact.
Research project (§ 26 & § 27)
Duration : 2018-09-01 - 2021-02-28

Cities are facing an ever faster change in their population, their needs and thus the requiements and demands on the city. Social change processes and the global trend towards urbanization, as well as the current migration pressures on European cities are increasingly posing a major challenge to responding to the processes of change in urban planning. Although gender issues are considered important in some cities, they are often disregarded in planning practice due to the many other issues and the time and money spent on spatial research (especially in smaller and medium-sized cities). The project "SmartThroughGender+" develops solutions for this. Many topics, such as demographic change, consolidation, supply with (green) infrastructure, require an intensive and differentiated examination of the demands of the different groups, as well as the derivation of measures for gender-equitable urban planning. The project takes into account that gender is always overlaid (intersectionality) with other characteristics (such as age, origin, education and occupation, religion, etc.). Therefore, an extended gender term (gender+) is used in the project. Traditional planning tools, such as local development concepts, have difficulty coping with the rapid changes and aligning goals and measures with long review periods. Digital planning tools for the analysis of social-spatial structures and the simulation of measures and their effects are increasingly being used in analysis and planning. At present, these instruments mostly lack integration of gender- and group-specific aspects. Inthe project "SmartThroughGender+" exactly these gender+ aspects are to be integrated into a tool set to support urban planning. The overall objective of the project is a Proof of Concept of this toolset consisting of (quantitative) digital analysis and simulation tools as well as (qualitative) instru-ments from urban and landscape planning taking into account gender + specific requirements. On the basis of a case study in the city of Linz, it will be examined how and with the commonly available and available data, indicators and characteristics can be developed which enable a (partially standardized) "rapid assessment" of social and spatial structures, taking into account the gender + approach. This is to identify requirements and areas for action. In order to vali-date, test and clarify the results at the overall level, a qualitative analysis is carried out at district level in which participatory statements are examined and proposals for measures are worked out (combination bottom-up and top-down). Expected result of the project is a 'Proof of Con-cept' for a toolset with a 'Rapid Assessment Toolbox' for social and spatial analysis, as well as the simulation of measures and effects on different population groups. The toolset is supple-mented by a toolbox for in-depth analysis at district level as well as the development of more targeted measures taking into account gender, age and group-specific requirements. The "SmartThroughGender+Toolset" particularly supports smaller and medium-sized cities in the implementation of gender-equitable urban planning.

Supervised Theses and Dissertations

Neueste SCI Publikationen

Neueste Projekte

Forschungsprojekt aus §26 oder §27 Mitteln
Laufzeit : 2019-10-01 - 2021-11-30

Das Forschungsprojekt "Mentoring für Frauen in der Forstwirtschaft" untersucht, wie Frauen in der österreichischen Forstwirtschaft gestärkt werden können. Ziel des Mentoringprogramms ist es, Frauen zu ermutigen, sich in der traditionell männlich dominierten Forst- und Holzwirtschaft zu etablieren und sie zu motivieren, diesen Sektor nach ihrer Ausbildung aktiv auszuüben. Das Mentoringprogramm soll die Rahmenbedingunge der Branche vermitteln, sie in bestehende Netzwerke einführen und praktische Tipps zur Erreichung beruflicher Ziele geben. Deshalb initiiert das Bundesministerium für Nachhaltigkeit und Tourismus (BMNT) eine exklusive Frauen-Mentoring-Runde mit hochrangigen Vertreter*innen und Experten*innen der Branche, um 15 Frauen neue Perspektiven im gewählten Interessengebiet aufzuzeigen. Das Projekt ist eine Kooperation zwischen dem Institut für Landschaftsplanung (BOKU, Wien) und der Bundesforschungsanstalt für Wald (BFW).
Forschungsprojekt aus §26 oder §27 Mitteln
Laufzeit : 2018-07-02 - 2021-01-01

Errichtungskosten und Erhaltungsaufwände als wichtigste Hemmfaktoren für die großflächige Begrünung von Stadtquartieren könnten durch lokale Selbstversorgung entscheidend gemindert werden. In diesem Kontext ermitteln wir anhand der Seestadt Aspern, welchen Beitrag verdichtete urbane Nahrungsmittelproduktion zu einem klimaneutralen, resilienten Stadtteil leistet bzw. leisten kann und wie dieser Beitrag nachhaltig stabilisiert bzw. optimiert werden kann. Wir evaluieren vor Ort praktizierte Formen der urbanen Selbstversorgung, ergänzen sie durch einen Abgleich mit internationalen Best Practice Beispielen und Experteneinschätzungen sowie Beteiligung von Akteur*innen durch weitere Systembausteine welche sodann auf lokalen Potenziale projiziert werden. Essbare (See)Stadt setzt räumliche und technische Potenziale für Begrünungsmaßnahmen und urbane Nahrungsproduktion mit dem sozialen Kapital in Relation, um zu zeigen, welche Voraussetzungen und Anreize „Betreiber*innen“ eines essbaren Stadtteils brauchen. Wir zeigen auf, wie die Seestadt und andere Quartiere kostenschonend und ressourceneffizient zu einem ‘Sustainable District’ transformiert werden können, indem vorhandene Infrastruktur, klimaschonende Stadtentwicklung, lokale Resilienz, Bürger*innen-Einbindung und -Bildung, Vernetzung und Nahversorgung sowie langfristige ökonomische Effizienz synergetisch zusammenwirken.
Forschungsprojekt aus §26 oder §27 Mitteln
Laufzeit : 2018-09-01 - 2021-02-28

Städte sind mit einer immer rascheren Veränderung ihrer Bevölkerung, deren Bedürfnisse und den damit verbundenen Anforderungen an die Stadt konfrontiert. Soziale Veränderungsprozesse und die globale Tendenz zur Urbanisierung, sowie der aktuelle Migrationsdruck auf europäische Städte stellen diese zunehmend vor große Herausforderungen, auf die Veränderungsprozesse in der Stadtplanung zu reagieren. Genderaspekte werden zwar in einigen Städten als wichtig erachtet, bleiben jedoch in der Planungspraxis aufgrund der zahlreichen anderen Themen und des zeitlichen und finanziellen Aufwands in der Raumforschung oft unberücksichtigt. Das Projekt entwickelt dafür Lösungsansätze. Viele Themen wie demografischer Wandel, Verdichtung, Versorgung mit (grüner) Infrastruktur benöti-gen eine intensive und differenzierte Auseinandersetzung mit den Anforderungen der unter-schiedlichen Gruppen sowie der Ableitung von Maßnahmen für eine gendergerechte Stadtpla-nung. Dabei wird im Projekt berücksichtigt, dass das Geschlecht immer mit anderen Merkmalen (z.B. Alter, Herkunft, Bildung und Beruf, Religion etc.) überlagert wird (Intersektionalität). Daher wird im Projekt ein erweiterter Gender-Begriff (Gender+) verwendet. Traditionelle planerische Instrumente wie örtliche Entwicklungskonzepte haben aufgrund ihrer langen Überarbeitungszeit-räume Schwierigkeiten mit den raschen Veränderungen umzugehen und die Ziele und Maß-nahmen abzustimmen. Digitale Planungs-Tools zur Analyse der sozialräumlichen Strukturen und zur Simulation von Maßnahmen und deren Effekte werden zunehmend in der Analyse und Planung eingesetzt. Diesen Instrumenten fehlt derzeit meist eine Integration von geschlechts- und gruppenspezifischen Aspekten. In “SmartThroughGender+” sollen genau diese Gender+ Aspekte in ein Tool-Set zur Unterstützung der Stadtplanung integriert werden. Übergeordnetes Ziel des Projekts ist ein Proof of Concept dieses Tool-Sets bestehend aus (quantitativen) digita-len Analyse- und Simulations-Tools sowie (qualitativen) Instrumenten aus der Stadt- und Land-schaftsplanung unter Berücksichtigung Gender+-spezifischer Anforderungen. Anhand einer Fallstudie in der Stadt Linz wird geprüft, wie und ob mit den üblicherweise vorhandenen und verfügbaren Daten, Indikatoren und Merkmale entwickelt werden können, die ein (teilstandardi-siertes) ,rapid assessment‘ sozialer und räumlicher Strukturen unter Berücksichtigung des Gender+ Ansatzes ermöglichen. Damit sollen Anforderungen und Handlungsräume identifiziert werden. Zur Validierung, Prüfung und Präzisierung der quantitativen Ergebnisse auf Gesamt-stadt- und Stadtteilebene eine qualitative Analyse nachgeschaltet, in der partizipativ die Aussa-gen geprüft und Maßnahmenvorschläge ausgearbeitet werden (Kombination Bottom-up und Top-down). Erwartetes Ergebnis des Projekts ist ein ‚Proof of Concept‘ für ein Tool-Set mit einer ‚Rapid-Assessment-Tool-Box‘ zur sozialen und räumlichen Analyse, sowie der Simulation von Maßnahmen und Effekte auf unterschiedliche Bevölkerungsgruppen und unterschiedlichen räumlichen Auflösungen. Ergänzt wird das Tool (Tool-Set) auf Gegesamtstadtebene durch Tools zur vertiefenden Analyse auf Stadtteilebene für die Entwicklung zielgerichteter Maßnahmen unter Berücksichtigung geschlechts-, alters- und gruppenspezifischer Anforderungen. Das “SmartThroughGender+ Tool-Set” unterstützt insbesondere kleinere und mittlere Städte in der Umsetzung einer Gender+ gerechten Stadtplanung.

Betreute Hochschulschriften