Latest SCI publications

Latest Projects


The aim of the project "Adaptation of autochthone and culturally valuable Austrian Pine Forests to future climatic conditions with special reference to aspects of forest pathology and interspecific genetic variation", which is described in detail in the project application of the BFW to the Austrian Ministry of Sustainability and Tourism, is to investigate measures of adaptation of ecologically valuable forest ecosystems dominated by Austrian Pine to climatically-induced epidemics of Diplodia shoot dieback (Diplodia sapinea). For that purpose the intraspecific variation of susceptibility of Pinus nigra to Diplodia sapinea should be tested and utilized. Within this project the following aspects will be adressed by the tasks carried out at the Institute of Forest Entomology, Forest Pathology and Forest Protection, BOKU, Vienna: • Laboratory investigations with regard to the selection and phenotyping of resistant mother trees of Pinus nigra (working package 1) • Providing assistance and support on investigations aiming to evaluate the resistance of clones or ramets from the clone archive (working package 2). • Development and implementation of a new seed control protocol taking into account infections by Diplodia sapinea (working package 3). • Assistance in the course of the revision of the currently approved seed lots for Pinus nigra in Austria (considering the genetic resistance of pine provenances to Diplodia sapinea) (working package 4). • Documentation of the above described tasks via protocols and scientific reports; data analyses and electronic data procession; provision of data to the BFW

The spruce web-spinning sawfly, Cephalcia abietis, is a primary pest with irrgular gradations in European mature spruce forests. Mass outbreaks are difficult to predict because the insect spends several years as a prepupa (resting larva) inside an earth‐walled chamber in the soil. Increasing temperatures due to climate change may shorten the generation cycle (voltinism) of the sawfly, probably resulting in more frequent outbreaks and higher damage on spruce in the near future. Our model sawfly population in the northern part of the Waldviertel/Lower Austria has a 3-year-population cycle. Since the last outbreak in 2013, this population is permanently monitored. The next mass swarming of the wasps is expected for spring 2019. With the necessary number of insects available, we will determine the thermal sums for individual stages of sawfly development and establish a phenology model in order to predict the population dynamics from air and soil temperatures and use it as a practical and simple monitoring tool to forecast sawfly mass outbreaks.
Research project (§ 26 & § 27)
Duration : 2018-10-01 - 2021-09-30

Ash dieback is a serious disease of ash (Fraxinus) species caused by the ascomycete fungus Hymenoscyphus fraxineus, which is native to East Asia and an invasive alien species in Europe. In Austria, symptoms of ash dieback were first recorded in 2005, and due to the successive spread of the causative agent, the disease now occurs in entire Austria. Besides the highly susceptible common ash (Fraxinus excelsior), which is severely damaged throughout most of its distribution range in Europe, narrow-leaved ash (Fraxinus angustifolia), which is in Austria mainly distributed in floodplain forests along the river March, is highly susceptible to the ash dieback pathogen. As observed for F. excelsior, there are individual F. angustifolia trees in young and mature forest stands which are only slightly affected by the disease. Such trees possibly possess a genetically heritable high resistance towards H. fraxineus. In order to preserve the autochthonous occurrence of F. angustifolia in floodplain forests along the March, which is threatened by ash dieback, undamaged or only slightly damaged ash trees across all age classes will be selected in the natural distribution range of the species. These trees will be incorporated in a clonal collection and in a progeny trial, in which their disease resistance levels will be evaluated. Heavily damaged afforestations of narrow-leaved ash which have been established during the last 10 to 15 years will be inspected, and undamaged or slightly damaged plants will be selected and vegetatively propagated, first by grafting and later by rooted cuttings. For the older age classes, seeds will be collected from undamaged or slightly damaged ash trees, from which plants will be grown. With the vegetatively and generatively propagated plant material two field trials will be established. In these trials, the level of resistance of the various genotypes will be tested. Simultaneously, the experimental sites shall serve for the ex situ preservation of narrow-leaved ash. Thereby, the present project will in the long-term lay the foundation for the establishment of seed orchards with disease resistant specimens of this ash species.

Supervised Theses and Dissertations

Neueste SCI Publikationen

Neueste Projekte

Forschungsprojekt aus §26 oder §27 Mitteln
Laufzeit : 2018-10-01 - 2021-09-30

Das Projekt „Anpassung autochthoner und kulturell wertvoller Schwarzkiefernwälder an zukünftige Klimabedingungen unter spezieller Berücksichtigung forstpathologischer Probleme und inner-artlicher genetischer Variation (ASKFORGEN)“ ist ausführlich im LE-Förderungsantrag des BFW an das BMNT beschrieben und verfolgt das Ziel, wertvolle Waldökosysteme, welche maßgeblich durch die Baumart Schwarzkiefer (Pinus nigra) geprägt sind, langfristig gegen klimatisch-bedingte Epidemien des Kieferntriebsterbens (Diplodia sapinea) anzupassen. Dabei soll die bereits bestehende innerartliche natürliche Variation der Anfälligkeit von Pinus nigra gegenüber Diplodia sapinea getestet und nutzbar gemacht werden. Die im Rahmen des Projekts durch das Institut für Forstentomologie, Forstpathologie und Forstschutz der BOKU angebotenen Teilleistungen umfassen die folgenden Aufgaben: • Durchführung von Laboruntersuchungen in Hinblick auf die Auswahl und Phänotypisierung von resistenten Mutterbäumen (Arbeitspaket 1) • Anleitung und Betreuung der Untersuchungen zur Evaluierung der Resistenz der Klone bzw. Rameten aus dem Klonarchiv (Arbeitspaket 2). • Entwicklung und Etablierung eines Saatgutuntersuchungsprotokolls (Arbeitspaket 3). • Mitwirkung bei der Revision von derzeit zugelassenen Saatguterntebeständen der Schwarzkiefer in Österreich (Berücksichtigung der genetischen Resistenz gegenüber Diplodia sapinea) (Arbeitspaket 4). • Dokumentation der oben beschriebenen Aufgaben in Form von Protokollen und Berichten, die Durchführung von mit den Arbeiten im Zusammenhang stehenden Auswertungen, sowie die Übergabe der Protokollierungen, Berichte und Auswertungen in elektronischer Form an das BFW
Forschungsprojekt aus §26 oder §27 Mitteln
Laufzeit : 2019-04-01 - 2021-09-30

Die Fichten-Gespinstblattwespe, Cephalcia abietis, ist ein Primärschädling mit unregelmäßigen Gradationen in heimischen Fichtenwäldern. Eine mehrjährige Diapause durch die Ausbildung von sogenannten Überliegern (Ruhelarven) in kleinen Erdhöhlchen im Boden, lässt eine Prognose der Populationsentwicklung nur mit einem aufwendigen Monitoringprogramm zu. Steigende Temperaturen im Zuge des Klimawandels scheinen die Generationenfolge (Voltinismus) des Insekts zu beschleunigen, wodurch Massenvermehrungen in Zukunft häufiger auftreten werden. Eine Blattwespenpopulation im nördlichen Waldviertel mit einer derzeit 3jährigen Entwicklungsdauer wird seit einer Massenvermehrung im Jahr 2013 beobachtet. Für das Jahr 2019 wird ein neuerliches Massenschwärmen prognostiziert. Dieser Umstand soll dazu genützt werden ein Phänologiemodell des Insekts anhand der für die Entwicklung der einzelnen Stadien nötigen Temperatursummen zu erstellen. Damit kann die Populationsdynamik über Luft- und Bodentemperatuen modelliert und als Frühwarnsystem für die Prognose eines Massenbefalls eingesetzt werden.
Forschungsprojekt aus §26 oder §27 Mitteln
Laufzeit : 2018-10-01 - 2021-09-30

Das Eschentriebsterben – hervorgerufen durch den aus Ostasien eingeschleppten Pilz Hymenoscyphus fraxineus (Eschen-Stengelbecherchen) – hat sich seit mehreren Jahren über ganz Österreich ausgebreitet. Neben der hochanfälligen und europaweit schwer geschädigten Gemeinen Esche (Fraxinus excelsior) ist die in Österreich vor allem in den Marchauen vorkommende Schmalblättrige Esche oder Quirl-Esche (F. angustifolia) ebenfalls hochanfällig. Wie bei F. excelsior werden auch bei F. angustifolia immer wieder einzelne Bäume in Jung- und Altbeständen beobachtet, die nur geringe Schadsymptome aufweisen und möglicherweise eine hohe, genetisch vererbbare Resistenz gegenüber dem Triebsterben besitzen. Um das autochthone, durch das Eschentriebsterben gefährdete Vorkommen von F. angustifolia im Bereich der Marchauen zu erhalten, wird angestrebt, gering bis nicht geschädigte Eschen über alle Altersklassen im natürlichen Verbreitungsgebiet auszuwählen und eine Klon- und Nachkommenschaftsprüfung, zur Beurteilung des Resistenzniveaus der ausgewählten Bäume, anzulegen. Dafür ist geplant, Pflanzen auf den bestehenden Aufforstungsflächen der letzten 10-15 Jahre hinsichtlich der Triebsterbensintensität anzusprechen, gering oder überhaupt nicht geschädigte Pflanzen auszuwählen und diese vegetativ durch Pfropfung und später durch Stecklinge zu vermehren. In den übrigen Altersklassen wird versucht, Saatgut von gering oder nicht geschädigten Eschen zu beernten und anzuziehen. Mit dem so gewonnen Pflanzmaterial sollen zwei Versuchsflächen angelegt werden, auf denen das Ausmaß der Resistenz der verschiedenen Genotypen untersucht werden kann und die gleichzeitig als Erhaltungsanlagen für die Quirl-Esche dienen können. Damit soll langfristig die Grundlage für die Anlage von Samenplantagen mit resistenten Exemplaren dieser Eschenart geschaffen werden.

Betreute Hochschulschriften