Biology of the Endomembrane System

The endomembrane system divides the cell into functional and structural compartments. These organelles of the endomembrane system include among others: the nuclear membrane, the endoplasmic reticulum, the Golgi apparatus, lysosomes/vacuoles, vesicles, endosomes and the cell membrane.
These membrane compartments are functional and developmental units, exchanging material through vesicle transport.
The plant endomembrane system plays a crucial role in the biosynthesis and storage of  proteins and lipids for human and animal nutrition, and in specialized storage tissues, e.g. of plant seeds, it gives rise to functionally distinct types of storage organelles.

The research units at the DAGZ functionally dissect and characterize endomembrane compartments to understand their architecture, morphological dynamics and interactions and to utilize them in biotechnological approaches.

Research groups and principal investigators:

Marie-Theres Hauser
» Plant Developmental Genetics

Barbara Korbei
» Endomembrane System

Christian Luschnig
» Auxin

Lukas Mach 
» Molecular Cell Biology

Herta Steinkellner
» Molecular Plant Biotechnology


Go to ...

 BACK TO MAIN PAGE

Biology of the Endomembrane System

Das Endomembransystem unterteilt die Zelle in funktionale und strukturelle Kompartimente. Zu diesen Organellen des Endomembransystems gehören unter anderem: die Kernmembran, das endoplasmatische Retikulum, der Golgi-Apparat, Lysosomen / Vakuolen, Vesikel, Endosomen und die Zellmembran. Diese Membrankompartimente sind Funktions- und Entwicklungseinheiten, die Material durch Vesikeltransport austauschen.

Das pflanzliche Endomembransystem spielt eine entscheidende Rolle bei der Organdifferenzierung, der Biosynthese und Lagerung von Proteinen und Lipiden. Sie sind bei der Ausbildung von Pflanzensamen besonders bedeutend, da sie  spezialisierte Speicherorganellen in diesen Speichergeweben darstellen. 

Die Forschungseinheiten am DAGZ charakterisieren Endomembran-Kompartimente, um deren Architektur, morphologische Dynamik und Wechselwirkungen zu verstehen und in biotechnologischen Ansätzen zu nutzen.

Forschungsgruppen und wissenschaftliche ProjektleiterInnen:

Marie-Theres Hauser
» Pflanzengenetik

Barbara Korbei
» Endomembrane System

Christian Luschnig 
» Auxin

Lukas Mach 
» Molekulare Zellbiologie

Herta Steinkellner 
» Molekulare Pflanzenbiotechnologie

Richard Strasser 
» Pflanzenglykobiologie


Weiter zu ...

 ZURÜCK ZUR STARTSEITE