Students from third countries (non-EU/EEA/Switzerland) who are planning to stay for more than 6 months in Austria require a Residence Permit 'Student'.

 


Exception for students from third countries with a residence title 'Student' from another EU country (except Great Britain, Ireland, and Denmark)

Students who are taking part in a Union or multilateral mobility programme (e.g. Erasmus+, OeAD scholarship) or for whom an agreement between two or more higher education institutions is in place and who are in possession of a valid residence title "Student" of another EU member country (not Denmark, Great Britain, Ireland) are allowed to enter Austria without requiring a visa and to stay in Austria for up to 360 days.

Complete the 'Confirmation of participation in a Union, multilateral mobility programme, or agreement between two or more higher education institutions' form and have it signed by your BOKU coordinator!

To prove that you are residing in Austria legally, you need:

  • a signed copy of the form above,
  • a valid travel document (at least valid for another 3 months, no older than 10 years, at least 2 pages long)
  • a valid residence title 'Student' from another EU country
  • valid health insurance
  • proof of entry date into Austria (passport stamp, train/bus/flight ticket, petrol station receipt,...)

If it is possible/probable that you will stay in Austria for more than 360 days we recommend that you apply for an Austrian Residence Permit as well. You can then extend it when looking for a job.
For students who are initially allowed to stay in Austria without a visa, the visafree period starts again after the 360 days.


Preparing for the Application Process

Make sure you start preparing your application and collecting the right documents well in advance!

We recommend that you submit your application at the competent Austrian authority (embassy, general-conulate) in your home country 6 months before your arrival. You must wait for the decision there! The decision process can take around 3 months, even with a complete and valid application - any missing documents or information will extend this time frame.

For students who are initially allowed to stay in Austria without a visa, you can apply for the Residence Permit 'Student' once you arrive in Austria (responsible authorities in Vienna: MA35). The processing of your application can take up to 90 days, and it is not allowed to overstay your visa-free residency. We therefore advise you to submit your application in your home country several months before your arrival in Austria. If you do choose to submit your application in Austria, it is vital that you prepare the correct documents beforehand and that you submit the application immediately upon your arrival. Please be aware that you have to prove your entry date into Austria (e.g. passport stamp, flight/bus/train ticket, petrol station receipt,...). When you go to the Austrian authorities to submit your application, it is highly recommended that you bring a native speaker with you to avoid communication problems and ensure a smooth application process!

Documents: You can find a checklist with all the required documents on the OeAD database. The documents (e.g. proof of financial means) should be clear and comprehensible. It is sometimes helpful to attach additional written explanations to clarify older or more complicated documents, and to explain their context. Please prepare originals AND copies of all documents (e.g. bring copies of your passport). In addition, we recommend that you keep copies of all submitted documents.

  • The documents should be submitted in an official German translation. Most of the time, English documents are also accepted, but there are no legal rights covering this.
  • Please note: Some documents (birth certificate, police clearance certificate,...) must be officially legalised. The legalisation process for an Austrian residence permit is different than for some other EU countries. It involves several steps and can take up to 6 months!

 

Especially important requirements for a successful application:

Insurance: Travel insurance is usually NOT enough - your health insurance must 'cover all risks'. We recommend:

  • private health insurance Feelsafe
  • for students who can initially travel to Austria without a visa: the Wiener Gebietskrankenasse(WGKK) (national health insurance for students in Austria, you can only apply once you arrive in Austria)

Third country nationals with a European health insurance card should register at the WGKK using the S1 form, in order to register their main residence in Austria. Please ask your insurance for the form!

Proof of origin of financial means: You are required to show not only that you have financial means but also where your funds come from. Examples of possible proof:

  • Withdrawals from your account within the last 6 months (or records of bank deposits, payment orders etc.), withdrawals from your parents' accounts or other sponsors in the last 6 months, proof of employment of parents or other sponsors or of the student themselves (self-employment possible) - work contract including the last 6 salary payment records, proof of payment or business licence including the last tax assessment reference.
  • When your financial means draw from other personal funds, their origin must also be shown (for example a bill of sale, inheritance contract)

 

Costs: Both submitting the application and collecting it carry costs! As of 2019: €120 when submitting the application, €20 when the permit is granted, and €20 fee for the collection of police identification data.

If you submit the application in your home country, we recommend that you name a representative in Austria (family, close friends,..) in your application form to communicate faster and speed up the application process.

Tip: It might be helpful to ask other students about their experience, e.g. you could check facebook groups of expats from your country in Vienna.

 

Post-submission Process

When applying at the competent Austrian authority (embassy or general consulate) in your home country

Because your application will be sent to the authorities in Austria, the process usually takes a bit longer. You will receive a 'Verständigung über das Ergebnis der Beweisaufnahme' in German (a notification of the outcome of your application). You will either be informed that you will receive a Visa D in order to enter Austria and acquire your Residence Permit 'Student' there, or that you did not meet the application requirements for a Residence Permit 'Student'. In this case you will need to supply additional documents or information.

When applying at the competent authorities in Austria (only if you can travel to Austria without a visa)

The authorities have 90 days to consider your application. This time frame only applies however when all the required documents are in order. If you do not submit your application immediately upon your arrival or there are documents missing from your application, the process could take longer than the 90 days of your visa-free residency. In this case you must leave the country.

You will receive a 'Verständigung über das Ergebnis der Beweisaufnahme' in German (the notification of the outcome of your application). Ideally all your documents are in ordder and you will be informed that you can collect your Residence Partmit 'Student'.

If, according to the notification, you have not fulfilled the application requirements for the Residence Permit 'Student', you have two weeks to submit further documents. Only then will you receive a decision on your application. Theoretically it is possible to extend this two-week deadline, but this is not recommended as it will only lengthen the application process, thereby making it improbable that it will be ready before the end of your visa-free residency.

Validity
The Residence Permit is only valid for 12 months. Information on extending your permit.

If you are taking an international master programme with a compulsory stay abroad, you can apply for a residence permit of 2 years at the beginning of your studies.  With this you can stay at the partner university in another EU country (not Great Britain, Ireland, or Denmark) for up to 360 days visa-free,  and you will not have to apply for another residence permit or visa in this country. If you plan to work in Austria after completing your international master programme at BOKU, it is recommended to apply for a residence permit of 2 years at the beginning of your studies: Students who have completed their studies holding a "Residence Permit – Student" may apply for a renewal of the permit for another 12 months to look for a job or set up a business.
In order to apply for a 2-year residence permit 'Student' in Austria, you must be able to prove sufficient financial means for 2 years and you will also need a confirmation from BOKU, that the mobility is a compulsory part of your programme. Please contact your co-ordinator!

Please note: The Residence Permit 'Student' is not a work permit! Information on working in Austria.

Studierende aus Drittstaaten, deren Studienaufenthalt in Österreich länger als 6 Monate dauert, benötigen eine "Aufenthaltsbewilligung – Student".

Ausnahme für Studierende aus Drittstaaten mit "Aufenthaltstitel Student" aus einem anderen EU-Land:
(gilt nicht für Aufenthaltstitel aus Großbritannien, Irland, Dänemark)

  • Studierende, die an einem Unions- oder multilateralen Programm mit Mobilitätsmaßnahmen (z. B. Erasmus plus, OeAD-Stipendium) teilnehmen oder für die eine Vereinbarung zwischen zwei oder mehreren Hochschuleinrichtungen (z.B. Internationale Masterprogramme) besteht und die einen gültigen "Aufenthaltstitel Student" eines anderen EU-Mitgliedsstaates (nicht Belgien, Großbritannien, Irland) innehaben, dürfen visumfrei einreisen und sich in diesem Rahmen bis zu 360 Tage in Österreich aufhalten.

    Füllen Sie die "Bestätigung über die Teilnahme an einem Unions- oder multilateralen Programm mit Mobilitätsmaßnahmen oder an einer Vereinbarung zwischen zwei oder mehreren Hochschuleinrichtungen" aus und lassen Sie sie von Ihrem*r Koordinator*in an der BOKU unterschreiben!

    Um nachzuweisen, dass Sie sich legal in Österreich aufhalten, benötigen Sie

    • diese unterschriebene Bestätigung

     

    • ein gültiges Reisedokument (noch mindestens drei Monate gültig, nicht älter als 10 Jahre, mindestens 2 Seiten)
    • einen gültigen Aufenthaltstitel "Student" eines anderen EU-Mitgliedsstaates und
    • eine gültige Krankenversicherung
    • Beweis des Einreisedatums nach Österreich (Stempel im Reisepass, Zug-/Bus-/Flugticket, Tankrechnung...)


    Wenn es möglich/wahrscheinlich ist, dass Ihr Aufenthalt länger als 360 Tage dauert,  empfehlen wir trotzdem einen österreichischen Aufenthaltstitel Student zu beantragen. Dieser kann dann auch zur Arbeitssuche in Österreich verlängert werden.
    Wenn Sie visumsfrei nach Österreich einreisen dürfen, beginnt die visumsfreie Zeit nach Ablauf der 360 Tage erneut.

Vorbereitung der Antragstellung

Beginnen Sie rechtzeitig mit der Planung des Antrags und dem Sammeln der benötigten Dokumente!

  •  Wir empfehlen, den Antrag schon 6 Monate vor der geplanten Einreise bei der österreichischen Vertretungsbehörde (Botschaft, Generalkonsulat) des Heimatlandes einzureichen. Die Entscheidung müssen Sie im Ausland abwarten! Die Entscheidung kann auch bei vollständigen Dokumenten 3 Monate dauern - und wenn Informationen/Dokumente fehlen, sehr viel länger.

  • Wenn Sie visumsfrei nach Österreich einreisen dürfen, können Sie den Antrag auf "Aufenthaltsbewilligung – Student" auch in Österreich (zuständige Behörde in Wien: MA35) stellen. Die Bearbeitung durch die Behörden dauert bis zu 90 Tage, ein Überschreiten der visumsfreien Aufenthaltsdauer ist grundsätzlich nicht erlaubt. Daher empfehlen wir, den Antrag schon einige Monate vor der Einreise im Heimatland zu stellen.
    Wenn Sie den Antrag erst in Österreich stellen, ist es unbedingt notwendig, dass Sie die benötigten Dokumente vor Ihrer Einreise vorbereiten und den Antrag gleich nach Ihrer Ankunft stellen. Beachten Sie auch, dass Sie das Einreisedatum nach Österreich nachweisen müssen (z.B. Stempel im Reisepass, Flug-/Bus-/Zug-Ticket, Tankrechnung).
    Wenn Sie den Antrag in Österreich stellen, nehmen Sie bei der Antragstellung in der österreichischen Behörde zur Vereinfachung der Kommunikation eine_n deutsche_n Muttersprachler_in mit!
     
  • Dokumente: Eine Checkliste der benötigten Dokumente finden Sie in der Datenbank des Österreichischen Austauschdiensts. Die Dokumente (z.B. Nachweis der Herkunft der finanziellen Mittel) sollten klar verständlich und nachvollziehbar sein. Manchmal ist es hilfreich, noch eine schriftliche Erklärung beizulegen. Bereiten Sie die Dokumente in Original UND Kopie vor (z.B. nehmen Sie Kopien Ihres Reisepasses mit). Wir empfehlen auch, Kopien aller eingereichten Dokumente zu behalten.

    • Die Dokumente sollten in offiziellen deutschen Übersetzungen eingereicht werden. In der Regel werden auch englische Dokumente akzeptiert, darauf besteht aber kein Rechtsanspruch.
    • Achtung: Einige Dokumente (Geburtsurkunde, polizeiliches Führungszeugnis,…) müssen offiziell beglaubigt werden. Der Ablauf der Beglaubigung besteht (anders als für einige andere EU-Staaten) aus mehreren Schritten und kann bis zu 6 Monate dauern!
       

  • Besonders wichtig für eine erfolgreiche Antragstellung:

    • Versicherung: Reiseversicherungen reichen in der Regel NICHT aus - die Krankenversicherung muss "alle Risiken abdecken".
      Empfohlen werden:
      - die private Krankenversicherung Feelsafe
      - für Studierende, die visumsfrei einreisen dürfen: die Wiener Gebietskrankenkasse (= gesetzliche Krankenversicherung für Studierende in Österreich, kann erst nach der Einreise beantragt werden)

      Drittstaatsangehörige mit einer Europäischen Krankenversicherungskarte müssen sich bei der WGKK mittels S1 Formular melden, damit sie ihren Hauptwohnsitz in Österreich anmelden können. Bitte fragen Sie bei Ihrer Versicherung nach diesem Formular!
       
    • Nachweis der Herkunft der finanziellen Mittel: Sie müssen nicht nur nachweisen, dass Sie über ausreichend finanzielle Mittel verfügen sondern auch genau belegen können, woher Sie diese Mittel haben!
      Beispiele für Nachweismöglichkeiten:

      • Kontoauszug der letzten 6 Monate (samt Einzahlungsbuchungen, Zahlungsaufträgen usw.), Kontoauszug des Kontos der Eltern bzw. sonstiger Sponsor_innen der letzten 6 Monate, Beschäftigungsnachweis der Eltern bzw. sonstiger Sponsor_innen oder der Studierenden selbst aus unselbstständiger und bzw. oder selbstständiger Erwerbstätigkeit (Arbeitsvertrag inkl. der letzten 6 Gehaltszettel und Nachweis über die Auszahlung bzw. Gewerbeberechtigung inklusive letzter Steuerbescheid)
      • Bei Herkunft der finanziellen Mittel aus einem Gesamtvermögen, muss auch die Herkunft des Vermögens nachgewiesen werden (z.b. Kaufvertrag, Erbschaftsvertrag,...)
         

  • Kosten: Sowohl bei der Antragstellung als auch der Abholung der "Aufenthaltsbewilligung – Student" fallen Kosten an! (Stand 2019: EUR 120,00 bei Antragstellung, EUR 20,00 bei Erteilung und EUR 20,00 Personalisierungsgebühr)
     
  • Wenn Sie den Antrag in Ihrem Heimatland stellen, empfehlen wir, dass Sie eine_n "Zustellungsbeauftragte_n" in Österreich (z.B. Familienmitglied, Freund,...) im Antrag angeben, um die Kommunikationswege abzukürzen und Zeit zu sparen.

Tipp: Es kann auch hilfreich sein, andere Studierende nach ihren Erfahrungen zu fragen (z. B. in Facebook-Gruppen von Expats Ihres Landes in Wien).

 

Ablauf nach Antragstellung

Bei Antragstellung bei der österreichischen Botschaft/dem Generalkonsulat in Ihrem Heimatland
Da der Antrag an die zuständigen Behörden in Österreich geschickt wird, dauert die Bearbeitung meist länger. Sie erhalten dann über die Botschaft/das Generalkonsulat  eine "Verständigung über das Ergebnis der Beweisaufnahme". Sie werden entweder informiert, dass Sie ein Visum D zur Abholung des Aufenthaltstitels in Österreich erhalten oder dass die Voraussetzungen für die Ausstellung einer ""Aufenthaltsbewilligung – Student"" nicht gegeben sind. In diesem Fall müssen Sie noch Informationen/Dokumente nachreichen.

Bei Antragstellung bei den zuständigen Behörden in Österreich (wenn Sie visumfrei nach Österreich einreisen können):
Die Behörden haben 90 Tage Zeit über Ihren Antrag zu entscheiden. Diese Frist gilt aber erst, wenn alle Dokumente vollständig sind. Wenn Sie den Antrag nicht gleich nach Ihrer Ankunft einreichen oder wenn Dokumente nachgereicht werden müssen, kann die Bearbeitungszeit die 90 Tage/3 Monate des visumsfreien Aufenthalts überschreiten. In diesem Fall müssen Sie das Land verlassen.

Einige Wochen nach Antragstellung erhalten Sie per Post eine "Verständigung über das Ergebnis der Beweisaufnahme" (in deutscher Sprache).
Im Idealfall sind Ihre Dokumente in Ordnung und Sie werden informiert, dass Sie die Aufenthaltsbewilliung abholen können.

Falls Sie laut dieser "Verständigung" die Voraussetzungen für die Ausstellung einer "Aufenthaltsbewilligung – Student" nicht erfüllen, haben Sie 2 Wochen Zeit, noch zusätzliche Erklärungen abzugeben bzw. zusätzliche Dokumente nachzureichen. Danach wird endgültig über den Antrag entschieden.
Eine Verlängerung der 2-Wochen-Frist ist theoretisch möglich, wird aber nicht empfohlen, weil dadurch die Bearbeitungszeit noch verlängert wird und die Aufenthaltsbewilligung wahrscheinlich nicht mehr rechtzeitig vor Ablauf der visumsfreien Zeit ausgestellt werden kann. 


Gültigkeitsdauer
Die Aufenthaltsbewilligung wird nur für 12 Monate ausgestellt. Informationen zur Verlängerung

Falls Sie ein internationales Masterprogramm mit einem verpflichtenden Auslandsaufenthalt studieren, können Sie zu Beginn Ihres Studiums auch eine Aufenthaltsbewilligung für 2 Jahre beantragen. Damit können Sie sich an der Partneruniversität in einem EU-Land (NICHT Großbritannien, Irland, Dänemark) bis zu 360 Tage visumsfrei aufhalten und müssen in diesem Land nicht noch einmal eine Aufenthaltsbewilligung/ein Visum beantragen. Besonders empfehlenswert ist die Beantragung eines Aufenthaltstitels für 2 Jahre, wenn Sie nach Abschluss Ihres internationalen Masterstudiums in Österreich arbeiten möchten: Studierende, die ihr Studium im Rahmen einer "Aufenthaltsbewilligung – Student" abgeschlossen haben, können diese anschließend zum Zweck der Arbeitssuche oder Unternehmensgründung für weitere 12 Monate verlängern.
Damit in Österreich eine Aufenthaltsbewilligung "Student" für 2 Jahre ausgestellt werden kann, müssen Sie ausreichend finanzielle Mittel für 2 Jahre nachweisen und benötigen Sie zusätzlich noch eine Bestätigung der BOKU, dass die Mobilität im Rahmen Ihres Studiums verpflichtend ist. Bitte kontaktieren Sie Ihre_n Koordinator_in!

Achtung: Die "Aufenthaltsbewilligung – Student" ist keine Arbeitserlaubnis! Nähere Informationen zu Arbeiten in Österreich