The BOKU is an internationally-orientated university, where students from all over the world are warmly welcome!

We did our best to put together all the relevant information on travelling and living in Austria as a student, and to highlight the potential issues you may encounter. The most up-to-date information, such as application forms and document checklists, can be found in the OeAD database.

For students from non-EU countries especially we are happy to offer support and to answer any questions you may have.

EU/EEA member state or Switzerland

If you are from an EU/EEA member state or from Switzerland you do not have to apply for a visa to stay in Austria. A valid travel document (passport or identity card) for your entry and stay in Austria is sufficient. Within three days of your arrival you should register at the local authorities, by completing and submitting a 'Meldezettel'.

Details on the registration process and information on insurance and employment can be found on the OeAD database.

Students from third countries (non-EU/EEA/Switzerland)

Students from third countries require either a visa (if staying up to 6 months), or a Residence Permit 'Student' (if staying more than 6 months).

At the BOKU, students from all over the world are very welcome. It is important to note that an admission letter from the university is no guarantee that you will receive a visa or residence permit in Austria. The authorities in Vienna consider the requirements, applications, and submitted documents very carefully and decide from case to case, whether a student will receive a residence permit or not.

BOKU ist eine international orientierte Universität, an der Studierende aus allen Ländern herzlich willkommen sind!

Wir haben uns bemüht, alle relevanten Informationen zu Einreise und Aufenthalt für Studierende hier zusammenzufassen und auf mögliche Probleme hinzuweisen. Die aktuellsten Informationen sowie Antragsformulare und Dokumentenlisten finden Sie in der Datenbank des Österreichischen Austauschdienstes (OeAD).

Bei Fragen oder Problemen bieten wir insbesondere Studierenden aus Non-EU-Ländern gerne Unterstützung an:

EU/EWR- oder Schweizer Staatsangehörige

EU/EWR-oder Schweizer Staatsangehörige benötigen für Ihren Studienaufenthalt kein Visum/keinen Aufenthaltstitel. Ein offizielles Reisedokument (Reisepass und/oder Personalausweis) ist für die Einreise und den Aufenthalt in Österreich ausreichend. Nach Ihrer Einreise müssen Sie sich in Österreich mit dem sogenannten "Meldezettel" bei den Behörden anmelden.

Details zur Anmeldung und Informationen zur Versicherung und Erwerbstätigkeit finden Sie in der Datenbank des Österreichischen Austauschdiensts.

Studierende aus Drittstaaten (Nicht EU/EWR/Schweiz)

Studierende aus Drittstaaten brauchen entweder ein Visum (Aufenthalt bis 6 Monate) oder eine "Aufenthaltsbewilligung Student" (Aufenthalt über 6 Monate).

An der BOKU sind Studierende aus allen Ländern herzlich willkommen. Allerdings ist ein Zulassungsbescheid unserer Universität leider keine Garantie, dass Sie ein Visum/eine Aufenthaltsbewilligung in Österreich bekommen. Die Wiener Behörden überprüfen die Voraussetzungen, die Anträge und Dokumente sehr genau und entscheiden im Einzelfall, ob ein_e Studierende_r einen Aufenthaltstitel bekommt.