The aim of the bioeconomy is to transform all economic activities based on non-renewable raw materials into an economy based on renewable raw materials.

The Centre for Bioeconomy at BOKU

The University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences in Vienna (BOKU) covers all areas of the bioeconomy and sees this as a unique selling point worldwide. BOKU has focused on the bioeconomy: More than eighty percent of the institutes do research in the field of bioeconomy and also offer training in this field.

The focus has traditionally grown. The university has always covered science, technology and social sciences. In order to coordinate the comprehensive activities within the university, to promote internal and external cooperation and collaboration as well as communication, the Centre for Bioeconomy was set up in May 2019. The aim of the Centre is to initiate and support bioeconomy-relevant activities in the field of research, education and innovation.

Our tasks:

  • Coordination
  • Cooperation
  • Collaboration
  • Communication

Our goal:

Support of activities in research, education and innovation.
 

Challenges and areas of activities in the bioeconomy

BOKU considers itself to be an essential participant in finding solutions to the major societal challenges of our time, such as climate change, the scarcity of raw materials, the loss of biodiversity, etc. The bioeconomy plays a decisive role in this.

BOKU defines the bioeconomy as a holistic system. The activities focus on the production of bio-based raw materials on land, water and waste, as well as their converting and processing for the production of food and feed, materials, chemicals, pharmaceuticals and energy, taking into account environmental and social science aspects.

Challenges:

  • Climate change
  • Raw material shortage
  • Biodiversity loss
  • Energy transition
  • Waste problem
  • Certification
  • Dietary behaviour changes

 

 

Management

Das Ziel der Bioökonomie ist die Umwandlung des derzeitigen Wirtschaftssystems zu einer auf nachwachsenden Rohstoffen basierten Wirtschaft.

Das Zentrum für Bioökonomie an der BOKU

Die Universität für Bodenkultur in Wien (BOKU) deckt alle Bereiche der Bioökonomie ab und sieht darin ein weltweites Alleinstellungsmerkmal. An der BOKU ist Bioökonomie Programm: Mehr als achtzig Prozent der Institute forschen im Themenbereich Bioökonomie und bieten auch Ausbildung dazu an.

Der Schwerpunkt ist traditionell gewachsen. Die Universität hat von jeher Naturwissenschaften, Technologie und Sozialwissenschaften abgedeckt. Um die umfassenden Aktivitäten universitätsintern zu koordinieren, interne und externe Kooperationen und Kollaborationen sowie die Kommunikation zu fördern, wurde im Mai 2019 das Zentrum für Bioökonomie geschaffen. Ziel des Zentrums ist die Initiierung und Unterstützung von bioökonomie-relevanten Aktivitäten im Forschungs-, Bildungs- und Innovationsbereich.

Unsere Aufgaben:

  • Koordination
  • Kooperation
  • Kollaboration
  • Kommunikation

Unser Ziel: 

Unterstützung von Aktivitäten in Forschung, Bildung und Innovation.

Herausforderungen und Arbeitsbereiche der Bioökonomie

Die BOKU betrachtet sich als ein wesentlicher Teilnehmer an der Findung von Lösungen für die großen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit, wie z.B. den Klimawandel, die Rohstoffknappheit, den Verlust der Biodiversität, etc.. Dabei spielt die Bioökonomie eine entscheidende Rolle.

Die BOKU definiert die Bioökonomie als ganzheitliches System. Die Aktivitäten fokussieren auf die Erzeugung biobasierter Rohstoffe zu Land, zu Wasser und aus Abfällen sowie deren Be- und Verarbeitung zur Herstellung von Lebens- und Futtermitteln, Materialien, Chemikalien, Pharmazeutika und Energie unter Berücksichtigung umwelt- und sozialwissenschaftlicher Aspekte.

Herausforderungen:

  • Klimawandel
  • Rohstoffknappkeit
  • Verlust der Biodiversität
  • Energiewende
  • Abfallproblem
  • Zertifizierung
  • Ernährungswandel

 

 

Leitung