Interdisciplinary research at 8 locations

Inter- and transdisciplinary research in three core areas of current societal challenges is the goal of EPICUR Research. Funded by Horizon 2020 of the European Commission, the project started in January 2021 with a three-year duration. Within the programme line "Science with and for Society" (SwafS), EPICUR Research is primarily aimed at early career researchers, who are interested in shaping a common research agenda for our eight partner universities.

Joint research agenda with inter- and transdisciplinary approach

Joint research with the EPICUR alliance is inspired by the “Six Transformations to achieve the SDGs”, the Green Deal, “Missions of Horizon Europe”, and the EU Skills Agenda. An inter- and transdisciplinary approach in three core areas (EPIChallenges) deal with sustainability (including climate change and energy), mobility, migration & identity and public health as the most relevant research agendas.

The exploration of new collaborations from a young generation of researchers can provoke a unique understanding of complex global phenomena such as climate change, pandemics and forced migration.

Sustainability
Mobility, Migration & Identity
Public Health

 

EPICamps explained

EPICamps are (virtual) events aimed at young scientists from the EPICUR alliance in order to create a space for exchange, collaboration and academic networking between scientists from diffe-rent disciplines and areas.

Expanding the concepts of traditional scientific conferences and workshops, EPICamps will be open gatherings engendering new partnerships and serving as seedbeds for research ideas beyond the scopes of single disciplines or fields. They will feature various formats, ranging from short presentations and panel discussions to academic matchmaking events and interactive ad-hoc discussion rounds, from virtual posters and project exhibits to search/offer blackboards.

EPICamps will offer emerging scholars the opportunities to present their research, interests, and ideas as well as discover and meet with peers who complement and expand their work. To foster manifold exchanges, the EPICamps – in addition to thematic sessions – will also give room to researchers and non-university partners to connect over questions of methodology, tools, ethical queries and data management, didactics, science communication and other aspects of academic pursuits.

EPICUR seeks to foster the formation of research groups across disciplines and national borders, who address one of three societal challenges: sustainability, mobility/migration/identity, public health. Under the umbrella of these EPIChallenges, EPICUR will organize six EPICamps throughout 2021/22, each narrowing in on different aspects of these broad themes.

Grant application

Following the EPICamps, researchers in collaboration with external partners, will have an opportunity to apply for grants to augment their emerging research networks and transform research ideas into EPIClusters: collaborative, challenge-based research projects run by early career researchers.

 

 

1st EPICamp on October 15/16, 2021

Mobility, Migration and Multilingualism

The call for participation is open until September 15! Participation is open to scientists of all – primarily early – career stages, from all disciplines and from all 8 partner institutions.

Mobility, migration, and multilingualism have shaped and challenged European societies for centuries; from the Middle Ages to contemporary times, movements of diverse population groups have changed the production and communication of knowledge and impacted linguistic, social, cultural as well as economic and political systems. The first EPICamp of 2021 will take place within the scope of the EPIChallenge “Mobility, Migration, Identity”.

Submissions and participation

Contact information for questions.

 

BOKU hosts 2nd EPICamp

BOKU is committed to sustainable development and will make "Sustainability" the topic of the second EPICamp.

In autumn 2021, BOKU and two EPICUR partners will invite selected researchers to a workshop lasting several days. Under the working title "Sustainability, Materials, Climate Justice", early career researchers from different scientific disciplines will meet and network along common research interests.

The application for participation will open at the end of September/early October. You will find regular updates here.

Kontakt: Assoc. Prof. Mag. Dr. Nina Eisenmenger

Interdisziplinäre Forschung an 8 Standorten

Inter- und transdisziplinäre Forschung in drei Kernbereichen aktueller gesellschaftlicher Herausforderungen ist das Ziel von EPICUR Research. Von Horizon 2020 der Europäischen Kommission gefördert, startete das Projekt im Jänner 2021 mit einer dreijährigen Laufzeit. In der Programmschiene “Science with and for Society” ("Wissenschaft mit und für die Gesellschaft", SwafS) angesiedelt, richtet sich EPICUR Research primär an Forschende, die am Anfang ihrer wissenschaftlichen Karriere stehen und Interesse haben, eine gemeinsame Forschungsagenda für unsere acht Partneruniversitäten zu gestalten.

Gemeinsame Forschungsagenda mit inter- and transdisziplinären Ansätzen

Die gemeinsame Forschung innerhalb der EPICUR-Allianz orientiert sich an den "Six Transformations to achieve the SDGs", dem Green Deal, den "Missions of Horizon Europe" und der "EU Skills Agenda". Inter- und transdisziplinäre Ansätze in den drei Kernbereichen setzen sich mit Nachhaltigkeit (einschließlich Klimawandel und Energie), Mobilität, Migration und Identität sowie öffentlicher Gesundheit als den wichtigsten Forschungsagenden auseinander.

Die Erforschung neuer Kooperationen durch eine junge Generation von Forscher*innen kann zu einem einzigartigen Verständnis komplexer, globaler Phänomene wie Klimawandel, Pandemien und erzwungener Migration führen.

Nachhaltigkeit
Mobilität, Migration & Identität
Gesundheit

 

EPICamps erklärt

EPICamps sind (virtuelle) Veranstaltungen, die sich an junge Wissenschaftler*innen aus der EPICUR-Allianz richten, um einen Raum für den Austausch, die Zusammenarbeit und die akademische Vernetzung zwischen Wissenschaftler*innen aus verschiedenen Disziplinen und Bereichen zu schaffen.

EPICamps erweitern die Konzepte traditioneller wissenschaftlicher Konferenzen und Workshops und sind offene Zusammenkünfte, die neue Partnerschaften entstehen lassen und als Keimzelle für Forschungsideen dienen, die über die Grenzen einzelner Disziplinen oder Bereiche hinausgehen. Die Formate reichen von Kurzvorträgen und Podiumsdiskussionen bis hin zu akademischen Matchmaking-Veranstaltungen und interaktiven Ad-hoc-Diskussionsrunden, von virtuellen Postern und Projektausstellungen bis hin zu Such- und Angebotsbörsen.

EPICamps bieten Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen die Möglichkeit, ihre Forschung, ihre Interessen und ihre Ideen zu präsentieren sowie Gleichgesinnte zu treffen, die ihre Arbeit ergänzen und erweitern. Um den vielfältigen Austausch zu fördern, werden die EPICamps - zusätzlich zu den thematischen Sitzungen - auch Raum für Forscher*innen und außeruniversitäre Partner*innen bieten, um sich über Fragen der Methodik, der Werkzeuge, ethischer Fragen und des Datenmanagements, der Didaktik, der Wissenschaftskommunikation und anderer Aspekte der akademischen Arbeit auszutauschen.

EPICUR will die Bildung von Forschungsgruppen über Disziplinen und nationale Grenzen hinweg fördern, die sich mit einer der drei gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen befassen: Nachhaltigkeit, Mobilität/Migration/Identität, öffentliche Gesundheit. Unter dem Dach dieser EPIChallenges wird EPICUR im Zeitraum 2021/22 sechs EPICamps veranstalten, die sich jeweils auf verschiedene Aspekte dieser weit gefassten Themen konzentrieren.

Beantragung von Finanzzuschüssen

Im Anschluss an die EPICamps haben Forscher*innen in Zusammenarbeit mit externen Partner*innen die Möglichkeit, Zuschüsse zu beantragen, um ihre entstehenden Forschungsnetze zu erweitern und Forschungsideen in EPIC-Cluster umzuwandeln: kollaborative, auf Herausforderungen basierende Forschungsprojekte, die von Nachwuchsforscher*innen durchgeführt werden.

 

 

1. EPICamp am 15./16. Oktober 2021

Mobilität, Migration und Multilingualismus

Die Ausschreibung gilt bis zum 15. September! Beteiligen können sich Wissenschaftler*innen aller – vornehmlich der frühen – Karrierestufen, aus allen Disziplinen und von allen 8 Partnerinstitutionen.

Mobilität, Migration und Mehrsprachigkeit haben die europäischen Gesellschaften seit Jahrhunderten geprägt und herausgefordert. Vom Mittelalter bis in die heutige Zeit haben die Bewegungen verschiedener Bevölkerungsgruppen die Produktion und Kommunikation von Wissen verändert und sprachliche, soziale, kulturelle sowie wirtschaftliche und politische Systeme beeinflusst. Das erste EPICamp des Jahres 2021 wird im Rahmen der EPIChallenge "Mobilität, Migration, Identität" stattfinden.

Bewerbungen und Teilnahmebedingungen

Kontakt bei Fragen

BOKU veranstaltet 2. EPICamp

Die BOKU setzt sich für nachhaltige Entwicklung ein und wird "Nachhaltigkeit" zum Thema des zweiten EPICamps machen.

Im Herbst 2021 lädt die BOKU mit zwei EPICUR-Partnern ausgewählte Forscher*innen zu einem mehrtägigen Workshop ein. Unter dem Arbeitstitel "Sustainability, Materials, Climate Justice" werden sich (Nachwuchs-)Wissenschaftler*innen aus unterschiedlichen wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen begegnen und entlang gemeinsamer Forschungsinteressen vernetzen.

Die Bewerbung zur Teilnahme wird voraussichtlich im Ende September/Anfang Oktober stattfinden. Sie finden hier regelmäßige Updates.

Kontakt: Assoc. Prof. Mag. Dr. Nina Eisenmenger