"Transition to a low carbon economy"

Global warming caused by greenhouse gases from human activities is the most serious threat to long-run economic development and the life of human beings. Significant changes on all aspects of our behaviour and in all sectors of the economy are imperative. The annual conference of the Austrian Economic Association (NOeG) aims to discuss the economic consequences, challenges and potential pathways of our transition to a low carbon economy. The organizers invite submissions on this topic as well as from all areas of economics including macroeconomics, economic development and growth, environmental and ecological economics, resource and agriculture economics, labor and demographic economics, microeconomics and industrial organization, urban and regional economics, etc.


Registration is open from June 1 until July 22 2024 at

If you have any questions please contact noeg2024(at)boku.ac.at!

Conference fee:
For NOeG members: 0 € (membership is € 55/year - see www.noeg.ac.at)
For non-members: 100 €


Thank you for your submissions!

We invite full papers or extended abstracts on the conference topic as well as all other fields of economics to be submitted until May 14, 2024, via https://www.conftool.net/noeg2024/.
We further invite the submission of organized sessions (four papers related to a common topic) from all fields in economics until May 7, 2024, to noeg2024(at)boku.ac.at.

Please consider the Submission Guidelines for both full papers/extended abstracts and organized sessions.

Notification regarding acceptance will be sent out by June 8, 2024.

Call for Papers

Date & Venue

September 2-3, 2024

BOKU Vienna, Ilse-Wallentin-Haus

Peter-Jordan-Straße 82, 1190 Vienna



Keynote Speakers

Karsten Neuhoff is Professor at the Institute of Economics and Business Law at Technical University Berlin and Head of the Climate Policy Department at DIW Berlin. His topic: How to design carbon pricing, power market design and further policies for an economically and socially successful transformation to climate neutrality? Based on independent scientific research he engages in mutual transfer between science, politics and other stakeholders, for example in the Sustainable Finance Advisory Council of the German Federal Government. He leads policy advice projects for the German government and the EU Commission and has published 48 journal articles and 4 books. Karsten Neuhoff holds a Master in Physics from the University of Heidelberg and a PhD in Economics from the University of Cambridge.

Katheline Schubert is a Professor at University Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne and at Paris School of Economics. She graduated from Ecole Centrale Paris and earned her PhD in economics from University Paris 1.

She is a member of the French High Council for Climate and of the French Council of Economic Advisors. She is also past-president of the French Economic Association.

Katheline Schubert is an applied theorist, Her research interests are in environmental economics, natural resources economics, dynamic macroeconomics and sustainable growth. Her most recent works are on climate economics and on the energy transition.

She has published on these topics in many academic journals, among which the American Journal of Agricultural Economics, the Energy Journal, the Journal of Economic Theory, the Journal of Mathematical Economics, the Journal of Environmental Economics and Management, the Journal of Economic Dynamics and Control, the Journal of Public Economic Theory, the Journal of the Association of Environmental and Resource Economists, the European Economic Review.

Program Committee

Zsofia Barany Central European University
Birgit Bednar-Friedl University of Graz
Esther Blanco University of Innsbruck
Pirmin Fessler Oesterreichische Nationalbank
Emanuel Gasteiger TU Wien
Philipp Heimberger The Vienna Institute for International Economic Studies (wiiw)
Daniel Huppmann International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)
Claudia Kettner Austrian Institute of Economic Research (WIFO)
Monika Köppl-Turyna EcoAustria
Agnes Kügler Austrian Institute of Economic Research (WIFO)
Georg Lehecka Österreichische Finanzmarktaufsicht (FMA)
Bernhard Mahlberg Institute for Industrial Research
Hermine Mitter University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences (BOKU)
Klaus Nowotny University of Salzburg, Austrian Institute of Economic Research WIFO
Dieter Pennerstorfer Johannes Kepler University Linz
Michael Pfaffermayr University of Innsbruck, Austrian Institute of Economic Research (WIFO)
Oliver Picek Momentum Institut
Erwin Schmid University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna (BOKU)
Johannes Schmidt University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna (BOKU)
Philipp Schmidt-Dengler University of Vienna
Matthias Schnetzer Austrian Federal Chamber of Labour, Vienna University of Economics and Business (WU)
Sigrid Stagl Vienna University of Economics and Business (WU)
Karl Steininger University of Graz
Martin Wagner University of Klagenfurt, Bank of Slovenia, Institute for Advanced Studies Vienna (IHS)
Andrea Weber Central European University
Doris Weichselbaumer J. Kepler University Linz
Christoph Weiß Vienna University of Economics and Business (WU)
Klaus Weyerstrass Institute for Advanced Studies Vienna (IHS)
Lisa Windsteiger University of Salzburg, ifo Institute
Christine Zulehner University of Vienna

Local Organizing Committee

Carina Auzinger
Andreas Eder
Irene Konrad
Heidi Leonhardt
Ulrich Morawetz
Iris Richter
Klaus Salhofer
Sebastian Wehrle

Thanks to our Sponsors!