The most important steps that you need to complete before, during and after your stay abroad are listed in detail in Mobility Online. Every applicant has their own workflow with further information in Mobility Online.

In addition, further steps may be necessary, such as the OLS language assessments, etc. You will be informed about these via e-mail by BOKU-International Relations.

Erasmus+ students have entitlements and obligations, which are summarized in the Erasmus+ Student Charter.

 

Have an amazing Erasmus+ experience!

     

Application & Nomination

Application period

Applications are only possible online!

  • 1st online application round for Erasmus+ traineeship grants in the academic year 2022/23 is open from 1 December 2022 to 1 March 2023.
  • 2nd online application round is expected to run in June 2023 (depending on budget availability).

Application deadline: within the current online application round or no later than 5 weeks before the start of the internship, possibly shorter upon request.
(for graduate traineeships: 2 months before graduation, on request also possible at shorter notice).


Nominations for Erasmus+ funding are only possible after uploading the complete application documents!

Insurance

A study stay abroad via Erasmus+ does not automatically include insurance cover. Thus, please make sure you are covered by international insurance throughout your time abroad (health, accident and liability insurance; in addition, it is recommended to get supplementary insurance for the duration of the stay abroad). For more information, please contact ÖH and your social security carrier (e.g. to see if you have/are eligible for the European Health Insurance Card), see below.

Accident and liability insurance

Accident and liability insurance is generally provided by paying the ÖH administrative fee. This insurance coverage is also available for accidents or damages that occur during your studies am (at the host institution and on your way to and from, it doesn't cover sparetime activities) when completing semesters abroad or internships abroad in Europe.

Information on policy numbers, insurance sums as well as damage reports can be found on the ÖH BOKU website.

A confirmation of insurance can be requested at ÖH. Send an e-mail (subject: confirmation) with your confirmation of BOKU enrollment to studierendenversicherung(at)oeh.ac.at and the following data: first and last name, current residential address, matriculation number, name of the educational institution you are studying at.

ATTENTION: The ÖH insurance is only valid while you are enrolled at BOKU and have paid the ÖH fee (NOT for traineeships for recent graduates).

European Health Insurance Card (EHIC)

With the European Health Insurance Card/"European Krankenversicherungskarte" (see on the back of your e-card) you are covered by health insurance in all EU/EEA countries as well as Iceland, Liechtenstein, Northern Macedonia, Switzerland, Serbia. For Serbia, please note that you must present the EHIC to the social insurance institution applicable to your place of residence and exchange it for a valid entitlement certificate. Check the validity of your e-card before your stay abroad and make sure that all fields on the back of the e-card are filled in completely. If you do not have a valid health insurance card, apply for the "Certificate as a provisional replacement for the EHIC" ("Bescheinigung als provisorischer Ersatz für die EKVK") from your health insurance provider well in advance before your trip abroad.

In Turkey, the European Health Insurance Card is not valid. Therefore, please inform yourself at the customer service of the Austrian Health Insurance Fund whether the possibility for health insurance exists due to bilateral agreements.

In addition to the information provided, please inform yourself about suitable and sufficient international insurance coverage before your stay abroad and contact your host institution in advance if special insurance is recommended for your stay there.

Further information on the topic of insurance can also be obtained from the ÖH BOKU, from your social insurance or from your host institution.

Note: We recommend an additional private insurance.

Applying for the Erasmus+ Scholarship & Grant Agreement To-Dos

The grant agreement for your Erasmus+ grant will be signed between the student and BOKU-IR. This will be available shortly before departure (about 2 weeks). In addition to the regular Erasmus+ funding rates, top-ups can also be applied for. Top-ups for disadvantaged groups (students with children, students with fewer opportunities, students with disabilities) require certain proof (see database query) and amount to 250€ per month. This must be indicated in the database and also the automatic transfer into the grant agreement must be checked. The Green Travel Grant for low-emission travel (bus, train, carpool, bicycle,...) to the host university and back home must also be applied for at the beginning. If in the end the airplane was taken, this subsidy of 50€ will be deducted from the second installment.

Further ToDos before departure

OLS language assessment 

For Erasmus+ students it's recommended to complete an online language assessment in the main working language at the traineeship institution (exception: native speakers) before their stay abroad. You will get an email with the link to this assessment. If the result of your assessment is poor, you may take an online language course (optional). Towards the end of your stay abroad, you can optionally do a second online assessment in the language of instruction.

Tuition fees during your stay abroad

In case you have to pay a tuition fees at BOKU, tuition fees can be waived if your Erasmus+ traineeship will take place during regular semester times (Exception: traineeships of recent graduates). The ÖH fee has to paid. See also tuition fee waiver

During your traineeship

If you terminate your stay abroad prematurely (e.g. due to poor health) you will most likely have to pay back all of your Erasmus money. It is extremely important that you contact OeAD BEFORE terminating your stay and ask them about your options.

Before you return to BOKU you need to print in Mobility Online the confirmation of stay and have it signed and stamped by your host university. Also, you need to fill out the EU Online Survey (link will be sent by email). Once everything is completed, you will receive the remaining 20% of your scholarship.

Upon return to BOKU

In order to receive the remaining 30% of the Erasmus+ grant/2nd installment, please upload all required final documents in Mobility Online.

Final documents

  • Confirmation of Stay (print out from Mobility Online, signed by host institution)

  • EU-Survey (link will be sent by e-mail)

  • Traineeship Certificate (print out from Mobility Online, signed by host institution)

  • Report on your Erasmus+ stay (template in Mobility Online)

  • Green Travel proof, if applicable

As soon as you are back at BOKU, please hand in a copy of your confirmation of stay within the enrollment deadline at the Student Services or send it by mail to studienservices(at)boku.ac.at. Scan the original and upload it to the Mobility Online database. 

*The European Commission support for the production of this publication does not constitute an endorsement of the contents which reflects the views only of the authors, and the Commission cannot be held responsible for any use which may be made of the information contained therein.

Complaint procedure

Objections regarding the evaluation process of scholarships: For objections, please send an email with detailed explanation to BOKU-International Relations. The Erasmus+ Outgoing Coordinators will deal with the objection as soon as possible and replicate it with an individual evaluation and – if applicable – alternative solutions. Please note that BOKU-International Relations can only deal with complaints concerning procedures in BOKU-IR’s area of responsibility.

Die wichtigsten Schritte, die im Laufe des Praktikums Aufenthaltes zu durchlaufen sind (von der Bewerbung bis zur Rückkehr) sind detailliert in Mobility Online aufgelistet. Jede*r Bewerber*in hat einen eigenen Workflow in Mobility Online, der durchlaufen wird.

Zusätzlich können vereinzelt weitere Schritte nötig sein, z.B. die Absolvierung des OLS-Sprach-Assessments. Darüber werden Sie gegebenfalls vor, während und am Ende Ihres Praktikums per E-Mail durch BOKU-International Relations per E-Mail informiert.

Erasmus+ Studierende haben Rechte und Pflichten, die in der Erasmus+ Studierendencharta festgehalten sind.

 

Wir wünschen viel Erfolg und Spaß beim Erasmus+ Aufenthalt!

     

Bewerbung & Nominierung

Bewerbungszeitraum

Bewerbungen sind grundsätzlich laufend möglich. Die Bewerbungsunterlagen müssen min. 2 Monate (8 Wochen) vor Antritt (bei Graduiertenpraktika: min. 2 Monate vor Studienabschluss) vollständig in Mobility Online hochgeladen sein.

Versicherung

Eine Mobilität unter Erasmus+ beinhaltet keinen automatischen Versicherungsschutz. Dennoch ist dieser verpflichtend vorgesehen. Bitte sorgen Sie daher für ausreichenden internationalen Versicherungsschutz für die gesamte Dauer Ihres Auslandsaufenthaltes (Unfall-, Haftpflicht- und Krankenversicherung; darüber hinaus wird für die Dauer des Auslandsaufenthalts der Abschluss einer Zusatzversicherung empfohlen). Genauere Informationen finden Sie unter ÖH-Versicherung bzw. bei Ihrer Sozialversicherung (Stichwort: European Health Insurance Card), siehe unten.

Unfall- und Haftpflichtversicherung

Unfall- und Haftpflichtversicherung besteht grundsätzlich durch die Bezahlung des ÖH-Beitrags. Dieser Versicherungsschutz besteht auch bei der Absolvierung von Auslandssemestern in Europa für Unfälle oder Schäden, die im Rahmen Ihres Studiums (am Standort der Praktikumsinstitution bzw. am Weg dorthin, gilt jedoch nicht in der Freizeit) entstehen.

Infos zu Polizzennummern, Versicherungssummen sowie Schadensmeldungen sind auf der folgenden Webseite der ÖH BOKU zu finden.

Eine Versicherungsbestätigung kann bei der ÖH beantragt werden. Schicken Sie dafür eine Email (Betreff: Bestätigung) mit Inskriptionsbestätigung an studierendenversicherung(at)oeh.ac.at und folgenden Daten: Vor- und Nachname, aktuelle Wohnanschrift, Matrikelnummer und Name der Bildungseinrichtung.

ACHTUNG: Die ÖH Versicherung ist nur gültig, solange Sie an der BOKU inskribiert sind und der ÖH Beitrag bezahlt wurde (NICHT für Graduiertenpraktika).

Europäische Krankenversicherungskarte (EKVK)

Mit der Europäischen Krankenversicherungskarte/European Health Insurance Card (diese befindet sich auf der Rückseite der e-card) sind Sie in allen EU/EWR-Ländern sowie Island, Liechtenstein, Nordmazedonien, Schweiz und Serbien krankenversichert. Für Serbien ist zu beachten, dass Sie die EKVK dem für Ihren Aufenthaltsort in Betracht kommenden Sozialversicherungsträger vorlegen und in eine gültige Anspruchsbescheinigung umtauschen müssen. Überprüfen Sie die Gültigkeit Ihrer Karte vor Ihrem Auslandsaufenthalt und beachten Sie, dass alle Felder auf der Rückseite der e-card vollständig ausgefüllt sind. Wenn Sie keine gültige Krankenversicherungskarte besitzen, beantragen Sie rechtzeitig vor Reiseantritt bei Ihrem Krankenversicherungsträger die Ausstellung einer „Bescheinigung als provisorischer Ersatz für die EKVK“.

In der Türkei gilt die Europäische Krankenversicherungskarte nicht. Bitte informieren Sie sich daher beim Kundenservice der Österreichischen Gesundheitskasse (ÖGK), ob die Möglichkeit für eine Krankenversicherung aufgrund von bilateralen Abkommen besteht.

Bitte informieren Sie sich zusätzlich zu den angeführten Infos selbständig über einen geeigneten und ausreichenden internationalen Versicherungsschutz vor Ihrem Auslandsaufenthalt und kontaktieren Sie im Vorfeld Ihre Gastinstitution, ob spezielle Versicherung für den Aufenthalt dort empfohlen werden.

Weitere Informationen zum Thema Versicherung erhalten Sie auch bei der ÖH BOKU, bei Ihrer Sozialversicherung bzw. bei Ihrer Gastinstitution.

Hinweis: Wir empfehlen eine private Zusatzversicherung.

Beantragung des Erasmus+ Stipendiums & Grant Agreement To-Dos

Der Stipendienvertrag über Ihre Erasmus+ Förderung wird zwischen den Studierenden und BOKU-IR abgeschlossen. Dieser steht kurz vor der Abreise (ca. 2 Wochen davor) zur Verfügung.

Hierbei können neben den regulären Erasmus+ Fördersätzen auch noch Top-ups beantragt werden. Top-ups für benachteiligte Gruppen (Studierende mit Kind(ern), Studierende mit geringeren Chancen, Studierende mit Behinderung) bedürfen gewisser Nachweisen (siehe Datenbankabfrage) und betragen (aliquot) 250€ pro Monat. Dies muss bitte in der Datenbank angegeben und die automatische Übernahme ins Grant Agreement kontrolliert werden. Der Green-Travel-Zuschuss für emissionsärmeres Reisen (Bus, Bahn, Fahrgemeinschaft, Fahrrad,...) an die Gastuniversität bzw. wieder nach Hause muss ebenfalls schon zu Beginn beantragt werden. Falls dann zum Schluss z.B. doch das Flugzeug genommen wurde, wird dieser Zuschuss von 50€ von der zweiten Rate abgezogen.

Weitere ToDo's vor dem Aufenthalt

OLS - Online Language Support

Vor Antritt müssen Studierende in der Arbeitssprache im Ausland (sofern nicht Muttersprachler*in) ein verplichtendes Online Sprach-Assessment absolvieren. Den Link dazu erhalten Sie per E-mail. In weiterer Folge besteht auch die Möglichkeit einen gratis Online-Sprachkurs zu besuchen. Kurz vor Ende des Auslandsaufenthalts können Studierende optional ein weiteres Sprach-Assessment machen.

Studiengebühr während des Auslandsaufenthalts

Ordentlichen Studierenden, die an ein Erasmus+ Praktikum absolvieren, wird der Studienbeitrag erlassen, wenn das Praktikum während des Semesters stattfindet (Ausnahme: Graduiertenpraktika). Der ÖH-Beitrag ist dennoch zu zahlen.

Weitere Infos: Befreiung der Studiengebühr 

Während des Praktikums

Sollten Sie Ihren Auslandsaufenthalt frühzeitig abbrechen müssen, kann es u.U. sein, dass Sie Ihre gesamte Erasmus+ Förderung verlieren/zurückzahlen müssen. Bitte setzten Sie sich unbedingt VOR einem frühzeitigen Abbruch mit BOKU-IR in Kontakt und informieren sich über Ihre Optionen.

Bevor Sie wieder an die BOKU zurückkommen, brauchen Sie noch die Aufenthaltsbestätigung (Vorlage in Mobility Online) und müssen an einer Online Umfrage der EU (wird Ihnen per Email zugeschickt) ausfüllen.

Rückkehr an die BOKU

Um die restlichen ca. 30% des Erasmus+ Zuschusses/2. Rate zu erhalten (taggenaue Abrechnung) laden Sie bitte alle benötigten Abschlussdokumente in Mobility Online hoch.

Abschlussdokumente

  • Aufenthaltsbestätigung (Vorlage in Mobility Online, von Praktikumsinstitution unterschrieben)

  • EU-Survey (Link wird per Mail gesendet)

  • Traineeship Certificate (Vorlage in Mobility Online, von Praktikumsinstitution unterschrieben)

  • Erfahrungsbericht (Vorlage in Mobility Online)

  • ggfs. Green Travel Nachweis (Green-Travel Förderung muss bereits im Grant Agreement beantragt worden sein)

Sobald Sie wieder an der BOKU sind, geben Sie bitte eine Kopie Ihrer Aufenthaltsbestätigung innerhalb der Inskriptionsfrist in den Studienservices ab bzw. schicken diese per Mail an studienservices(at)boku.ac.at. Das Original scannen Sie und laden Sie in der Mobility Online Datenbank hoch. 

 

*Dieses Projekt wurde mit Unterstützung der Europäischen Kommission finanziert. Die Verantwortung für den Inhalt dieser Veröffentlichung trägt allein der Verfasser; die Kommission haftet nicht für die weitere Verwendung der darin enthaltenen Angaben.

Beschwerdemanagement

Einsprüche gegen Abläufe bezügl. Stipendienvergabe: Für Einsprüche ist eine Mail mit ausführlicher Begründung an BOKU-International Relations zu senden. Die Erasmus+ Outgoing Koordinator*innen behandeln diesen Einspruch ehestmöglich und replizieren mit einer individuellen Bewertung und – wenn zutreffend – alternativen Lösungsvorschlägen. Bitte beachten Sie, dass BOKU-International Relations nur Beschwerden, die Abläufe in unserem eigenen Aufgabenbereich betreffen, behandeln kann.